Rugby Rugby

‘Capital FM’ among Elliptic awards winners


NAIROBI, Kenya, September 10- Capital FM was among the winners at the second Elliptics Awards held over the weekend.

The station bagged the Best Media- Audio award during the gala dinner held in Nairobi as Mwamba RFC’s Edwin Machanje won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) while his coach Titu Oduk went home with Coach of the Year accolade.

Machanje garnered 328 votes to beat prolific national 7s player and teammate Collins Injera (231) and Quins winger William Ambaka (248) at the event organised by the Ministry of Rugby.

The Black Shirts who lost the first two legs of the circuit to Quins had a reason to smile after Oduk was recognised as the best coach with 291 votes ahead of Nakuru’s Eric Situma (271) and Nondies Paul Odera (133).

The late skipper Aberdeen Shikoyi was posthumously rewarded for her efforts on the pitch by being cited as the MVP in the female category ahead of Celestine Masinde and Doreen Amour.

Shikoyi succumbed to injury sustained whilst on national duty in Uganda as she edged

“This year’s awards were more successful since we had several sponsors who came on board to ease the burden that comes with the task of holding a credible ceremony.

“We had a more plausible voting system by Mfollo Africa whose mobile phone application enabled fans to vote for as little as one bob which saw a larger number compared to last year,” said Thomas Origi, who was one of the organisers.

Kenya Harlequins had plenty to celebrate following their weekend triumph at the Kabeberi 7s after they were honoured with the Team of the Year beating Nakuru RFC and Strathmore Leos.

Their fly half Eden Agero (346) who has been impressive with the national team was voted as Rookie of the year beating Mwamba’s Daniel Sikuta (301) and Oliver Mang’eni of KCB (177).

Sarah Otieno was named as the Referee of the year beating male counterparts Godwin Karuga and Andrew Karani.

East Africa Secondary Schools Rugby champions, Kakamega High School were feted as the best in the school category trouncing Mangu High and Maseno.

Phillip Jalang’o was celebrated as Director of the Year narrowly beating the Kenya Rugby Union’s vice-chairman Sasha Mutai in a tight by only four points while Gabriel Ouko came in third.

Capital FM garnered 426 votes to edge out Radio Jambo (278) and Classic FM (234).

Citizen TV reporter, Bernard Ndong, won the Best TV Journalist of the Year Award while his employer bagged the Best Visual Media in Rugby with Nation winning the Print Media award.

Rugby fans cast about 11,749 votes with over 10,000 coming through text messages while the rest were submitted through the organisers’ website and the inaugural edition of the awards were held in 2010.