Football Football

Leopards claw Tusker’s KPL lead


NAIROBI, Kenya, July 16- Title chasing sides took advantage of the absence Kenyan Premier League (KPL) titleholders Tusker FC as AFC Leopards overhauled the Brewers from the summit of the league following the weekend round of fixtures.

Ulinzi Stars, the 2010 champions won to move up to third as the side they supplanted from the title, Sofapaka missed out on the chance to stay in touch after going down to Mathare United in midweek.

Ingwe returned to the top on 37 after their 1-0 win over City Stars on Friday with the Brewers who are away for the CECAFA Club Championships a point adrift in second.

Ulinzi’s 1-0 win over Western Stima in their Afraha backyard on Saturday thrust the soldiers to third on 33 same as Sofapaka but with a superior goal difference.

Thika United bounced back from their 2-1 loss to Mathare United a weekend ago to salvage a point as they shared spoils in a 1-1 draw with visiting Oserian on Sunday. They are still in the contention for the title though they remain rooted on fifth spot.

Gor Mahia are the latest entrant in the chase as they continued their impressive run by completing the double over Chemelil with a 1-0 away win in Nakuru.

K’Ogalo are now sixth on 29 which is a colossal improvement since coach Zdravko Logarusic took over as they seek to bounce back and reignite their title hopes.

In Naivasha, Karuturi Sports benefited from the shaky Sony Sugar who continued their slice with a 1-0 victory. The Michael Nam boys can now breathe easy despite the ongoing legal tussle over their training grounds.

KCB were the biggest winners of the weekend with a 3-0 thumping of new boys Muhoroni Youth as they recovered from their 3-1 loss to Gor a fortnight ago at the same City Stadium grounds. The triumph for the James Omondi lads saw them return to the top ten.

Muhoroni dropped to 14th a place above Oserian who have scored the least goals so far, with Rangers who did not feature this weekend still stuck on the basement.



Chemelil 0 – 1 Gor Mahia

Karuturi Sports 1 – 0 SonySugar

KCB 3 – 0 Muhoroni Youth

Thika United 1 – 1 Oserian


Ulinzi Stars 1 – 0 Western Stima


AFC Leopards 1 – 0 City Stars


Mathare United 2 – 0 Sofapaka