Athletics Athletics

Kiplagat storms to commanding win


NAIROBI, Kenya, April 4- Commonwealth champion and Worlds 1500m silver winner Silas Kiplagat delivered the signature performance with his blistering 1:44.8 win in the men 800m as the Kenya Prisons Championships closed on Friday.

Kiplagat who is preparing to launch his Diamond League campaign in Doha where he will feature in his favoured 1500m next week delivered a tacit warning to his rivals despite stepping down to the two-lap race.

“I’m happy to come here and win for my bosses and fans in the Prisons department. I wanted to gauge my speed and I’m confident ahead of the season in a year where everyone is aiming for the Olympics,” Kiplagat said after fulfilling his favourite role at the annual affair.

Having delivered the fastest heat on Thursday where he motored around the Nyayo National Stadium track in 1:47.1 in pouring rain, Kiplagat deployed a devastating breakaway 110m from the line to relegate defending champion, Reuben Bett (1:46.0) to silver as Isaac Kipketer came home in 1:47.2 for bronze.

The other prominent performance of the meeting was served up by women 800m sensation Lydia Wafula who obliterated the 17-year-old meet record when she won the race in 2:01.9 as the watching 2009 Boston Marathon champion, Salina Kosgei witnessed her 2:03.8 previous best erased from history books.

Former World Junior champion Christine Kambua marked a return to form as she stamped her authority with a dominant 10:11.8 victory in the women 3000m steeplechase final.

In the corresponding men’s race Lawrence Kemboi (8:38.4) won the close battle for top honours with Michael Kimutai (8:39.6) in the last 50m to bag the men’s 3000m steeple crown.

Daegu Worlds 10000m sixth finisher, Thomas Longosiwa (3:41.0) was beaten to second in the men 1500m final by Kibet Bargentuny (3:40.7) who tore away from the field at the bell as Dominic Mutuku took bronze in 3:41.6 while the women’s race was won by Lucia Muite (4:26.0) who pipped Tabitha Wambui (4:26.3) to the line.

Catherine Ndereba (34:54.5), the two-time world marathon champion and twice Olympics silver winner was fourth in the women’s 10000m won by upstart guest runner, Priscilla Lorchima (33:52.0).

The men 5000m race was won by Timothy Kiptoo who bagged the jackpot at the domestic cross country series in February with the clock returning 13:40.0 ahead of Silas Muturi (13:47.5) and John Mwangangi (13:48.4) who won his second medal of the championships.

On Thursday Isaac Korir and Faridah Chelanga won the men 10000m and women 5000m titles.

Korir upset last year’s Africa Cross Country champion and Prisons titleholder Mwangangi after motoring away from the challengers to stop the clock in 28:25.2.

Mwangangi crossed the line in 28:47.5 as Charles Cheruiyot came through with 28:51.1 on the timer to take bronze.

Chelanga won the women’s 5000m race in 16:10.0.

The selected Kenya Prisons team will be sent to camp next week to prepare for the Nationals and subsequent Trials.



100m: 1. Ibrahim Muya 10.5; 2. Tera Langat 10.7; 3. Laban Simotwo 10.8; 200m: 1. Ibrahim Muya 21.4; 2. Vincent Koskei 21.7; 3. Laban Simotwo 22.0; 400m: 1. Collin Omae 46.8, 2. Moses Kertich 47.3, 3. David Chemjor 47.5, 800m: 1. Silas Kiplagat 1:44.8, 2. Reuben Bett 1:46.0, 3. Isaac Kipketer 1:47.2, 1500m: 1. Kibet Bargetuny 3:40.7, 2. Thomas Longosiwa 3:41.0, 3. Dominic Mutuku 3:41.6, 5000m: Timothy Kiptoo 13:40.0, 2. Silas Muturi 13:47.5, 3. John Mwangangi 13:48.4; 10000m: 1. Isaac Korir 28:25.2; 2. John Mwangangi 28:47.5; 3. Charles Cheruiyot 28:51.1; 3000mS: 1. Lawrence Kemboi 8:38.4; 2. Michael Kimutai 8:39.6; 3. Patrick Churkor 8:43.0


100m: 1. Eunice Kadogo 12.1; 2. Damaris Mbula 12.4; 3. Marselah Nyaboke 12.5; 200m: 1. Eunice Kadogo 25.1; 2. Damaris Mbula 25.4; 3. Elizabeth Muthuka 25.6; 400m: 1. Maureen Jelagat 53.2; 2. Elizabeth Muthuka 57.3; 3. Joan Awuor 58.5; 800m: 1. Lydia Wafula 2:01.9; 2. Sylvia Chesebe 2:04.9; 3. Sylvia Cherop 2:11.5; 1500m: 1. Lucia Mutie 4:26.0; 2. Tabitha Wambui 4:26.3; 3. Agnes Katunge 4:26.6; 5000m: 1. Faridah Chelanga 16:10.0; 2. Jane Mwikali 16:12.3; 3. Margaret Waithera 16:18.0; 10000m: 1. Priscillah Lorchima 33:52.0; 2. Alice Mogire 34:15.5; 3. Caroline Kwambai 34:46.5; 3000mS: 1. Christine Kambua 10:11.8; 2. Nancy Kimaiyo 10:26.2; 3. Nancy Nzisa 10:46.7