Motors Motors

Vinayak on song in Nakuru


NAIROBI, Kenya, April 1- Titleholder Shivam Vinayak (MX1), Jesse Waithaka (MX50) and Rolf Kihara (MX65) emerged victorious as the third round of the Kenya National Motocross Championship came to a dramatic end at the newly built Rift Valley Motor and Sports Club racetrack in Solai, Nakuru.

Shivam, who had lost to Cruze Muigai in the last round at Nairobi’s Jamhuri Park, was all smiles after dominating all the three heats at stake. Muigai was however, the notable absentee in the RVM&SC round of the national series.

“It was a fantastic race. I won all three races- so it feels good for the regional championship in Kampala over Easter at Garuga racetrack. This was truly a fantastic track, friendly people and great fun with the karts! The track was quite tight and dusty. A good start was needed, which I got,” the winner stated.

Other than a picturesque view of the Menengai Crater and motorbikes action, spectators also feasted their eyes on karting races on the adjacent asphalt track courtesy of Chirag Soni and Davide Bernardi.

The new track was a scintillating change of scenario away from Jamhuri where they have ridden on time and time again.

“It was tight and technical; a bit challenging for the big bikes,” observed the oldest rider Moses Mugo (50) who came fifth overall in MX1. His son Charles Mugo romped home second in the category in what was a bonus to spectators.

MX50 class also saw series leader Jesse Waithaka return victorious on 57points followed by Ethan Nyachae on 54 whilst Dekker Kihara sealed the podium dash on 41. Nikita Sehmi was the only girl rider in the event riding a KTM 65 bike.

Tutu Maina won the MX2 class to remain on top of the standings and so was Apollo Mbuki who rode aggressively in the MX125 class.

Jesse Waithaka savoured his third win of the season in 50cc and promised better displays in the season.

“It was a challenging ride. I’m happy to be the first winner in this new track,” he added.

RVM&SC Chairman Rob Collinge was happy with the new track adding that they intend to make motocross a permanent feature.

Riders now proceed to Garuga in Kampala next weekend for the first round of the FIM Africa regional Championship.

Among the riders headed for Kampala are Apollo Mbuki, Tutu Maina and Vinayak.

The next round of the motocross series will be hosted by East Africa Motor Sports Club on the weekend of May 5 and 6.

Nikita Sehmi won the meritorious award.


MX50: 1. Jesse Waithaka 57; 2. Ethan Nyachae 54; 3. Dekker Kihara 41; 4. Dylan Mutahi 41.

MX65: 1. Rolf Kihara (KTM) 57; 2. Jeremy Waithaka 43; 3. M. Anwar 41; 3. Owain Ashley 41; 4. Ryan Bailey 36.

MX85: 1. Samir Anwar 55; 2. Walter Kuria 51; 3. Ngugi Waweru 50.

MX125: 1. Apollo Mbuki 60; 2. Rohan Gandhi 49; 3. Masalule Kituyi 42.

MX2: 1. Tutu Maina 57; 2. Ivan Guya 54; 3. Samir Sherman DNS.

MX1: 1. Shivam Vinayak 60; 2. Charles Mugo 45; 3. Isaac Kuria 45; 4. Louis Dirnboeck 45; 5. Moses Mugo 35.