Football Football

Gor name Confed Cup squad


NAIROBI, Kenya, February 14- Gor Mahia FC, Kenya’s representatives in the CAF Confederation Cup unveiled their preliminary travelling squad to Maputo on Tuesday.

The side that won the 1987 CAF Cup Winners Cup (also known as Mandela Cup) will depart from Nairobi on Friday with head coach, Cameroonian national Anaba Anono confident his side will deliver.

Gor, the only Kenyan outfit to bag continental silverware, will face Ferroviaro de Maputo on Saturday in a preliminary round tie with Anono expected to name his final squad after Thursday’s training session.

Consequently, K’Ogalo as the club are well known and opened their domestic league campaign last weekend with a 2-0 away victory at Thika United have shifted training to Nairobi’s City Stadium.

“The coach has morning and afternoon training on Wednesday and Thursday at the City Stadium,” said Gor assistant secretary Ronald Ngala.

“We have information that our match in Maputo will be on artificial turf, hence the need to familiarize by training on a similar pitch here in Nairobi.”

Gor clashed out of the 2010 CAF Confed Cup when they lost 5-1 on aggregate to Rwandese side APR on their last outing at the second tier competition.

Meanwhile, titleholders, Tusker FC are set to welcome the same APR side in Nairobi on Saturday for their first leg preliminary round tie.

Just like Gor, the 1994 Cup Winners Cup finalists clashed out at the formative round on their last continental foray in 2007 when they last bagged the domestic league crown.



1. Frederick Jerim Onyango
2. Ivo Mapunda


3. Christopher Wekesa
4. David Owino
5. Musa Mohammed
6. Kevin Ochieng’
7. Yusuf Juma
8. Ivan Anguyo

9. Collins Okoth
10. Anthony Akumu
11. Moses Otieno
12. Victor Ali Abondo
13. Moses Odhiambo
14. Rama Salim


15. Baldwin Ngwa
16. Hugo Nzoka
17. Duncan Makori
18. John Kiplang’at