Motors Motors

Duncan up for second gong at Motorsport fete


NAIROBI, Kenya, January 13- The 2011 Motor Sport Personality of the year will be known on Saturday during a fete to be held at Nairobi’s Mamba Village.

The coveted trophy will be picked from three nominees Ian Duncan, Shivam Vinayak and Aslam Khan.

Duncan who won the Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) for the sixth time last year is the current holder of the crown.

Rider Vinayak hopes to make it a double after he was recently voted the Most Improved Kenyan Sports Personality at the SOYA Awards in December.

But it will all depend on the verdict that will rightfully ascertain winners of the merit awards.

Besides, the occasion will also fete champions of various disciplines and categories.

Onkar Singh Rai-nephew of the great Sarbi Rai- will be feted for winning the KNRC Division 2 title and so is his Division 3 counterpart Sandeep Jandu.

Motocross has the likes of Apollo Mbuki (MX85), Cruze Muigai (MX2) and Rolf Kihara (MX65).

The Awards committee recently shot listed the number of nominees to a final list.

All eligible license holders have been voting online since early December and the cut off date for voting was on January 6.

License holders voted the merit awards which are the Motorsport Personality-Of- The- Year (competitors only), John Ngunjiri Memorial for the most consistent crew and the Tanveer Alam Memorial for the most improved rally driver.

Others are the William Kimaru Memorial for the most improved navigator, the Mike Vaughan Ryall Memorial for the Best Organised Rally (awarded to a Club), Johny Hellier which is awarded to a non competitor for the contribution to Motorsports, Kulwant Singh Chana Memorial for the motor sports promotion (Media/promoters), most improved Autocross competitor, the Neil Granger Brown Memorial for the Most improved motorcycle rider and the most meritorious lady competitor.

Other awards include champions in motocross, autocross, rallying, cross country and Enduro.


MOTOCROSS: Mx50-Maina Wanjigi; Mx65-Rolf Kihara; Mx85-Apollo Mbuki; Mx125-Ivan Guya; Mx2- Cruze Muigai; Mx1-Shivam Vinayak.

ENDURO: Shivam Vinayak; Enduro 125-Shaun Miller,

AUTOCROSS: Keith Henrie, under24-Charles Mugo.

CROSS COUNTRY: Cars driver: Nish Lakhani; cars navigator: Hunter Hannman; bikes: Shivam Vinayak, Quads: Shazar Anwar, Buggy- Ian Duncan;

KNRC: 2WD navigator- Kimeli Korir, 2WD driver-James Kirimi; Classic Car Cup navigator-Arshad Khan, Classic Car Cup driver- Aslam Khan; Group S Navigator- George Njoroge, Group S driver- Jasmeet Chana, KNRC Div 3 driver- Sandeep Jandu; KNRC Div 3 navigator-; KNRC Div 2 driver-Onkar Rai, KNRC Div 3 navigator-; KNRC navigator-Amaar Slatch, KNRC driver- Ian Duncan.