Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Rudisha in line for second Soya top gong

NAIROBI, December 7, 2011: Once again, athletes dominate the shortlist for this year’s Sports Personality of the Year Awards (Soya) with winners lined-up to be feted at the annual black-tie Gala on December 14.

On Wednesday, organisers released the selected final five that will be whittled down to three who will contest the awards next week.

“After a strenuous two months of nominations and voting, the Safaricom sports personality of the year awards, SOYA, has hit the home stretch.

“The following have been short listed in respective categories pending a final vote to be taken later this weekend,” a statement from them read in part.

World 800m record holder, David Rudisha who scooped the world title in Daegu, South Korea is in line for his second successive Sportsman of the Year top gong.

He will take on fellow world record holder in the marathon, Patrick Makau who smashed the three-year-old 2:03:59 all time best raced by Ethiopia’s Haile Gebrselassie in 2008 by breezing to 2:03:38 in Berlin this September.

Boston and New York Marathon titleholder, Geoffrey Mutai, world 30,000m record holder, Moses Mosop, who raced 2:03:04 in Boston and set the Chicago Marathon course record and All Africa Games Javelin gold winner, Julius Yego are other nominees.

Ulinzi Stars midfielder, Stephen Waruru, the top scorer in the domestic Kenyan Premier League, is the only non-athlete in the final five.

A new winner will be crowned in the corresponding Sportswoman of the Year Award with last year’s crown jewel, Nancy Jebet Lagat missing from the roster that has three runners and two volleyballers vying for the accolade.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Triple world champion, Vivian Cheruiyot, who bagged the World Cross senior women 8km, Worlds 5,000m and 10,000m crowns in addition to a second Diamond League trophy, fronts the list.

Mary Keitany, who ran the world half marathon record in February, won the London Marathon in April before finishing third in New York last month and world marathon winner and 2010 New York champion, Edna Kiplagat are the other runners.

Despite their doomed FIVB World Cup campaign, Everlyn Makuto and Kenya captain Bracksides Agala make the shortlist owing to their individual brilliance at the global stage and the role they played for their club Kenya Prisons who lifted the continental title.

All Africa Games tae-kwon-do gold winner, Gladys Mwaniki completes the list of the top woman award. Mwaniki beat Nigerian Obi Ijamum in the gold medal match.


Special Category Men
1. Swaleh Yusuf – Paracanoe
2. Abraham Tarbei – Paralympics
3. Josephat Owino – Special Olympics
4. Henry Nzungi Muendo – Paralympics
5. Jonah Kipkemboi Chesum – Paralymics
Special Category Women
1. Jennifer Mutuku – Special Olympics
2. Centrine Namatasi – Wheel chair
3. Mary Nakhumicha –Paralympics
4. Millicent Akoth – Special Olympics
5. Joan Timbe- Wheelchair
Sports Federation/Association of the Year
1. Athletics Kenya
2. Kenya Secondary Schools Federation
3. Kenya Volleyball Federation
4. Kenya Motor Sport Federation
5. Kenya Rowing/ Canoeing Federation
Coach of the Year
1. Sammy Omolo – Football
2. Peter Mathu – Athletics
3. David Leting – Athletics
4. Benjamin Nyangweso – Football
5. David Lungaho-Volley ball
Community Hero
1. Rose Naliaka
2. Paul Bittok
3. Bob Munro
4. Douglas Wakiihuri
Most Promising Sports Personalities of the Year – Women
1. Naomi Wafula – Golf
2. Linda Oseso – Athletics (Hammer)
3. Faith Chepng’etich – Athletics
4. Topista Situma – Football (schools)
5. Mercy Bwana- Football (schools)
Most Promising Sports Personality of the Year – Men
1. Shivam Vinayak – Motor cross
2. Ivan Guya – Motor cross
3. William Malel – Athletics
4. Leonard Kosencha – Athletics
5. Silas Kipruto – Volleyball
School of the Year – Girls
1. Arch Bishop Njenga Secondary- Football
2. Tartar Secondary– Football
3. Malava High– Volleyball
4. Tigoi High– Basket ball
5. Kerugoya High– Hockey
School of the Year – Boys
1. Laiser Hill Academy – Basket ball
2. Kakamega Highl – Rugby 7s
3. Kamukunji – Handball
4. Gekomoni –Football
5. Cheptil – Volleyball

Sports Team of the Year – Women
1. Telkom Orange -Hockey
2. Daegu Marathon Team – Athletics
3. World Cross Country Championships – Athletics
4. Kenya Pipeline -Volleyball
5. Kenya Prisons – Volleyball
Sports Team of the Year – Men
1. Tusker FC – Football
2. National Volleyball
3. Daegu Marathon-Athletics
4. Sofapaka FC- Football
5. Canoeing
Outstanding Performance Award
1. Janet Jepkosgei – Athletics
2. Musa Otieno – Football
3. Ezekiel Kemboi – Athletics
4. Alfred Kirwa – Athletics
5. Steve Tikolo – Cricket
Sportswoman of the Year
1. Edna Kiplagat – Athlete
2. Mary Keitany – Athlete
3. Vivian Cheruiyot – Athlete
4. Evelyn Makuto – Volleyball
5. Brackcides Agala – Volleyball
6. Gladys Mwaniki – Tae Kwon Do
Sportsman of the Year
1. Patrick Makau – Athlete
2. Geoffrey Mutai – Athlete
3. Stephen Waruru – Foot baller
4. Julius Yego – Athlete
5. Moses Mosop – Athlete
6. David Rudisha – Athlete

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 6 – Harambee Stars goalkeeper Patrick Matasi is hoping that the airports will be re-opened soon to allow him fly back...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 17 – The Kakamega High School ‘Green Commandos’ have produced a plethora of talent over the past decades in Kenyan football...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 11 – ‘Dok skul! Kijana dok skul!’ (Go back to school! Young boy go back to school!’). Those were the words...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved