Football Football

Rachier retains Gor chair, Magelo out in AFC


NAIROBI, Kenya, November 28- The foremost community clubs in Kenya, Gor Mahia and AFC Leopards conducted their elections over the weekend where the latter’s chairman, Alex Ole Magelo was hounded out of office.

Magelo, a civic leader in Nairobi, was toppled by the man he succeeded, Julius Ochiel, in hotly contested polls on Sunday.

Winston Kituyi was elected vice-chairman with Alutala Mukhawana bagging the post of secretary general.

Walji Amin (treasurer), Geoffrey Mulanya (assistant treasurer), Franklin Imbenz (organising secretary) and Catherine Omanyo, Gaylord Okinda and Okiya Dind as Committee Members were also swept into office.

Ochiel pledged to work with all stakeholders to propel the club that finished fifth in the just concluded Kenyan Premier League (KPL) season to propel the club forward.

Across at the City Stadium, Julius Rachier retained his post as chairman at the charged elections that saw the respected lawyer beat a combined effort of Collins Ajuok and Emmanuel Achayo.

Rachier who arrived at the venue clad in the club’s complete replica kit weathered the storm from his two challengers who urged their supporters to merge at the very last minute.

Brigadier George Owino lost his senior vice-chairman seat to former first vice-chairman, David Kilo while Faiz Ochieng and Anthony Ojee won the first and second deputy chair seats.

Veteran journalist, George Bwana, captured the secretary general’s post with Roselinder Achieng as his deputy as incumbent, Ronald Ngala held on to the Assistant Secretary General position.

“We have ambitious plans for Gor beginning with trying to win the title next season. We will roll out a number of projects and ideas aimed at making the club commercial viable and self sustaining,” Bwana told Capital Sport.

The television cameraman and producer, Bwana defeated Jolawi Obondo and Tom Oriko with a very minimal margin.

Another major casualty was vocal Organising Secretary Tom Ataro who lost to a new comer David Nyandega.

Ataro was accused of sabotaging the club from within when he incited players to lose games in a bid to scuttle Rachier’s standing when he ran for the Football Kenya Federation top seat.

Ataro was supporting the disbanded Football Kenya Limited chairman, Mohammed Hatimy.

The new team will be at the helm for three years.



Chairman – Ambrose Rachier
Senior Vice Chairman – David Kilo
1st Vice Chairman – Faiz Ochieng’
2nd Vice Chairman – Antony Ojee
Secretary-General – George Bwana
Deputy Secretary-General – Roselinder Achieng’
Assistant Secretary-General – Ronald Ngala – Incumbent
Treasurer – Samuel Ominde – Incumbent
Assistant Treasurer – Gerphas Okuku
Organizing Secretary – David Nyandega
Deputy Organizing Secretary – Jack Orowe


Chairman- Julius Ochiel
Vice-Chairman- Winston Kituyi
Secretary General- Alutalala Mukhwana
Assistant Secretary General- J Bukachi
Treasurer- Walji Amin
Assistant Treasurer- Geoffrey Mulanya
Organising Secretary- Franklin Imbenzi
Committee Members- Catherine Omanyo,Gaylord Okinda andOkiya Dind.