Football Football

Kimanzi rolls out fresh Stars squad


NAIROBI, Kenya, November 4- Harambee Stars head coach Francis Kimanzi has recalled six players and included Thika United youngster Clifton Miheso in his first squad since his re-appointment on Tuesday.

Romanian side FCM Targu Mures midfielder, Jamal Mohammed, veteran Sofapaka Duncan Ochieng, Tusker FC striker Paul Were and Ulinzi Stars full back Mulinge Ndeto are the four players who earned a recall to the side.

Sofapaka FC midfielder, Titus Mulama and unattached Jerry Santos who was turning up for Tanzanian side Simba SC complete the comeback list for the team preparing to face Seychelles away in a 2014 World Cup pre-qualifier next Saturday.

Mohammed, who scored Kenya’s equaliser during their 2012 Africa Nations Cup qualifiers home victory over Angola in July, was dropped by immediate former coach, Zedekiah Otieno after a dressing room spat in Kampala following the team’s 0-0 draw last month.

Gor Mahia custodian, Jerim Onyango and midfielder Kevin Ochieng were the main casualties in Kimanzi’s provisional squad of 25.

Aggregate victory against the Islanders over two matches will see Kenya join the group containing Nigeria, Malawi and either Djibouti or Namibia who will contest the other pre-qualifier with the second leg scheduled for Nairobi on November 15.

Kimanzi will formally take charge of the team on Monday after the new Football Kenya Association (NBA) administration led by Sam Nyamweya re-appointed him to the role he was fired from in February 2009.

At the time, Kimanzi had led Stars to the last qualifying stage of the 2010 South Africa World Cup but his successor, German national Antoine Hey, failed to see the Kenyans through to competition.


1. Arnold Otieno (FK Moss, Norway)
2. Duncan Ochieng (Sofapaka, Kenya)
3. Jackton Odhiambo(Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)

4. Mulinge Ndeto (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)
5. Brian Mandela (Tusker, Kenya)
6. James Situma (FK Tirana, Albania)
7. Pascal Ochieng(Rangers, Kenya)
8. Jockins Atudo (Tusker, Kenya)
9. Eric Masika (Gor Mahia, Kenya)
10. Dennis Odhiambo (Pretoria University, SA)

11. Victor Mugubi (Celtic, Scotland)
12. Jerry Santos (Unattached)
13. Crispin Olando (Tusker, Kenya)
14. Titus Mulama (Sofapaka, Kenya)
15. Collins Okoth (Gor Mahia, Kenya
16. Humphrey Ochieng (Sofapaka, Kenya)
17. Macdonald Mariga (Real Sociedad, Spain)
18. Stephen Waruru (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)
19. Clifton Miheso (Thika United, Kenya)
20. Jamal Mohammed (FCM Targu Mures, Romania)

21. Bob Mugalia (Sofapaka, Kenya)
22. Dennis Oliech (AJ Auxerre, Kenya)
23. Mike Baraza (AFC Leopards, Kenya)
24. Paul Were (Tusker, Kenya)
25. Kevin Kimani (Mathare United, Kenya)

1. Francis Kimanzi – Headcoach
2. Edward Oduor – Team manager