Golf Golf

Munyao, Murugi in Machakos stroll


NAIROBI, Kenya, October 10- The team of Retired General Jackson Munyao and Joseph Murungi won the Tusker Malt Golf Carnival Championship held at the Machakos Golf Club over the weekend.

Munyao and Murungi, playing in the four-ball better-ball format, finished with a team score of 48 points beating a field of over 100 golfers.

Murungi a handicap-10 golfer played brilliantly, carding four pars on the opening nine and one birdie and four pars on the back nine.

On his part, Munyao who plays off handicap-22 carded three pars and a birdie on the front nine and a single birdie and par each on the back nine.

Speaking at the prize giving ceremony, Murungi lauded his partner for coming through on some of the more challenging holes at Machakos.

“The format of play allows for partners to support one another; and I needed that support on the par-four 12th and on the par-four 13th when I lost my driver to the left on both occasions,” Murungi said.

The team of Dee Kivuva and Dr. Michael Kamala finished second with 46 points. The Kivuva/Kamala duo opened their scoring with a solid 22 on the front nine before finishing strong with 24 on the back nine.

Three teams finished with 45 points; they included the team of Jackson Nzioki and Charles Nzuki, the team of Gichinga Mangu and Jeniffer Mangu and the team of Larry Wambua and Adeduego Koli.

The Nzuki/Nzioki team carded 21 and 24 and the Mangu/Mangu team carded a similar score, complicating the decision to pick the third placed team.

The Wambua/Koli team started strong posting 26 on the front nine. However, they fizzled off and ran out of steam on the back nine posting a poor 19 and finishing in fifth place.

The Carnival now heads to the Njoro Country Club where members of the host club, Nakuru and Naivasha will meet to compete in the regional championship.

The second season of the Tusker Malt Golf Carnival is being played in the internationally acclaimed four-ball better-ball format that is used at the Ryder Cup and the Presidents Cup across Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda.