Athletics Athletics

Diack reelected IAAF president


DAEGU, South Korea, August 24 – Senegal’s Lamine Diack has been reelected unopposed as president of the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) here Wednesday.

Diack pulled in 169 votes in favour and 29 against as opposed to 173 and 27 in the first round after officials ordered a second round of voting by hand because of technical problems with the new electronic voting system.

Diack, 77, a former long jumper, has been in the post since November 1999 – when he took over as caretaker president on the death of Primo Nebbiolo – before being formally elected in 2001 and winning two more terms in 2003 and 2007.

Vice-president Sergei Bubka, the retired world pole vault record holder, had looked out of the running for another term after finishing fifth in the original vote at the IAAF Congress ahead of the world athletics championships.

But the Ukrainian, widely tipped along with 2012 London Olympics chief Sebastian Coe as candidates to succeed Diack in 2015, made the cut as the four outgoing vice-presidents held their positions.

He finished behind American Robert Hersh, Qatar’s Dahlan Al-Hamad and Coe with Canadian Abby Hoffman, the first-vote co-leader with Al-Hamad, fifth.

Bubka finished ten votes behind former double Olympic champion Coe.