Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Jamhuri set for Kenya-Uganda duel

NAIROBI, Kenya, March 2- It’s all systems go as the 2011 FIM Central Africa Motocross Challenge gets underway at Jamhuri Park on Sunday.

But the programme for the première round of the regional series (formerly AMU) starts on Saturday with the jury meeting, documentation & technical control and Practice Session from morning through to the afternoon.

 “We expect to sweep the 50cc category because of the improved performance of our young team.  We also expect to take the number 1 and 2 positions in the MX1 class,” said Uganda team manager Joseph Mwangala.

“We also intend to take the number 2 and 3 positions in the 85cc class,” he added.

Asaf Natan, Arthur Blick and Maxime Van Pee are the men Uganda will be banking on for the top honors.

Ugandans have always taken lessons from the Kenyans but Mwangala reckons it is now time for the Kenyans to learn a thing or two from the Ugandans (Asaf and Maxime) about speeding on the race track.

Perhaps the most feared men from the Kenyan assault are defending MX1 regional Champion Shivam Vinayak and MX2 go-getter Cruze Muigai. Ugandans have vowed that Shivam won’t find it easy to beat our top guys this time.

“In fact he will find them unbeatable,” vowed Mwangala. While Kenyans will be looking to eclipse the Ugandans, they will be also cautions of fighting amongst themselves as the event counts towards the second round of the Kenya National Motocross series.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“Ugandans have a very strong team gathered up, but still as Kenyans are much stronger than them in terms of experience. It has been a big challenge to race against the cream of Kenya’s best but you really get to learn alot from them and they motivate you to go even faster and faster,” said Kenya’s MX1 Class contender Charles Mugo.

The MX 65 Kenya team has the likes of series leader Jeremy Waithaka, outgoing MX50 champion David Murigi, Ryan Bailey, David Murigi and Rolf Kihara. Kihara won the last round of the regional series in Uganda last December before graduating to the next level this year.

The reigning East African MX85 champion Ivan Guya is raring to go alongside and will be riding to win the 125cc class introduced last year.

Karan Sehmi, Rohan Ghandi, Samir Anwar and Githuku Mungai will fly the Kenyan flag at MX85. Daredevil rider Cruze Muigai will team up with the likes of his cousin Tutu Maina, Zane Young and JJ Kahumbura at MX2.

Leading the Tanzanian assault are Rebekka Bjerre (Suzuki 250) at MX2, Per Bjerre (Crf450)-Mx1 and Jimmy Dale (Suzuki 250)-MX2.

MX50: 1. Maina Wanjigi 57; 2. Jesse Thuku 54; 3. Decker Kihara 45;  4. Xavian Walimohammed 39  
MX65: 1. Jeremy Waithaka 52;2. David Muriga 49; 3. Rolf Kihara 45; 4.  Owain Ashley 37; 5. Elias Sherman 35; 6. Mohammed Anwar 34; 7. Ryan Bailey 27; 8. Allister Diniz 24; 9. Nderitu Gatonye 24; 10. Callun Hays 20; 11. Nikita Sehmi 16.
MX85: 1. Masalule Kituyi 57 2. Karan Sehmi 54 3. Rohan Gadhi 45 4. Samir Anwar 34 5. Githuku Mungai 34; 6. Charles Kingangi 32; 7. Walter Kuria 29; 8. Ashley Njoroge 24
125cc: 1. Ivan Guya 60 2. Adil Khan 51 3. Mwai Kibaki 45. 4. Ted Wanday 39. 125cc: Ivan Guya 60 2. Adil khan 51.
MX2: 1. Cruze Muigai 60; 2. Tutu Maina 51 3. JJ Kahumbura 45 4. Zane Young 39.
MX1: 1.Shivam Vinayak 60; 2. Ken Anunda 47; 3. Charles Mugo 45; 4. Anthony Nielsen 30; 5. Ian Duncan 34; 6. Eduardo Debastiani 30; 7. Allan Maina 29; 8. Moses Mugo 23; 9. Jorgen Nielsen 20; 10. Isaac Kuria 18

Click to comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved