Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


FIFA award going to Barca

PARIS, December 6- Three Barcelona players – Andres Iniesta, Xavi and Lionel Messi – have been short-listed for the FIFA Ballon d'Or award for 2010.
Iniesta and Xavi played for Spain’s victorious World Cup team while Messi played for Argentina in South Africa.

The winner will be announced in Zurich on January 10. Last year the trophy went to Messi for his outstanding play at Barcelona.

World governing body FIFA released a first shortlist of 23 players in October 26 with seven members of Spain’s World Cup winning squad in the running for the prestigious Player of the Year award.

The revamped award is a combination of the FIFA World Player of the Year award and the France Football Ballon d’Or trophy which have been run separately until now.

Italian sports daily Gazzetta Dello Sport reported in its Sunday edition that the award would go Iniesta, who scored the match winning goal in the World Cup final against the Netherlands in July.

Dutch player Wesley Sneijder had been considered a strong candidate for the award, but he failed to make the shortlist.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 17 – The Kakamega High School ‘Green Commandos’ have produced a plethora of talent over the past decades in Kenyan football...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved