Barmaasai & Kirop take Stanchart race


NAIROBI, Kenya, October 31- David Barmaasai and Hellena Kirop are this year’s winners of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.
Barmaasai clinched the men’s race in a time of 2:10.31 while Kirop crossed the finish line at the Nyayo National Stadium on Sunday in a time of 2:31.11.

“I’m very happy to have won this race. I thank God for giving me the strength to win this race,” said Barmaasai who took home a prize kitty of Sh1.5 million.

“The race went the same way as I had anticipated in my training,” he added.

Kirop was equally ecstatic to have clinched one of the most sought after titles in Kenyan sports.

“This was my first time to run this race and I’m happy to have won it. I didn’t think I would win the race but die to the will of God, I was able to,” said Kirop.

Michael Kiprop Tiony and Chemtah Rionotukei secured the men’s and women’s titles respectively in the half marathon.

“In the beginning my competitors and I were struggling for positions but as the race went on I managed to open a gap,” said Tiony who won the race in a time of 1:02.15.

Rionotukei won the race in 1:12.27 ahead of Helen Jepkurgat who took the race in 1:15.35 and Sylvia Kipyego who took third in 1:15.45.

Tiony and Rionotukei were awarded Sh150.000 each.

Moses Odhiambo and Asia Sururu were the winners in the men’s and women’s 12.5km wheelchair race respectively.


Men’s Full marathon:
1.    David Barmaasai-2:10.31.
2.    Philemon Gitia-2:11.11
3.    Silas Sang

Women’s Full Marathon
1.    Hellena Kirop-2:31.11
2.    Leah Malot-2:33.41
3.    Frashiah Waithaka-2:35.09

Men’s Half Marathon
1.    Michael Kiprop Tiony- 1:02.15
2.    Daniel Too-1:02.16
3.    Kiprotich Mutai-1:02.19

Women’s Half Marathon
1.    Chemtah Rionutukei-1:12.47
2.    Helen Jepkurgat-1:15.35
3.    Sylvia Kipyego-1:15.45