Kenya to face Malaysia in Delhi


NAIROBI, Kenya, October 1- The pool stage for the Commonwealth Games rugby sevens tournament has been revised following the withdrawal of Namibia.Kenya alongside original rivals Samoa and Papua New Guinea have been joined in Pool C by Malaysia.

Uganda who were scheduled to meet Kenya in New Delhi take up Namibia’s place in Pool D where they will lock horns with 2006 silver medalists England, Australia and Sri Lanka.

The rest of the draw remains unchanged.

Benjamin Ayimba’s charges will open their account against Malaysia on October 11 at 2.14pm Kenyan time and then face Papua New Guinea at 5.40pm before closing their encounter against another favourite and International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens champions Samoa at 8.46pm.

The squad departs for the sub continent on October 4.


Pool A: New Zealand, Scotland, Canada, Guyana
Pool B: South Africa, Wales, Tonga, India
Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
Pool D: England, Australia, Uganda, Sri Lanka