Kenya drops in FIFA rankings


NAIROBI, Kenya, August 12- Kenya dropped one spot on the FIFA rankings to position 116 on the latest FIFA rankings.

The slide comes after Harambee Stars one all draw against Tanzania on Wednesday in Dar es Salaam.

Twahir Muhiddin’s side travel to Addis Ababa next Wednesday to face Ethiopia in another friendly.

Both friendlies are part of Stars preparations ahead of their Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers aginst Guinea Bissau on September 3.

Inter Milan midfielder McDonald Mariga who made his first appearance in a Stars shirt this year put Kenya ahead in the 13th minute with a trademark free kick from the edge of Tanzania’s penalty box.

The Taifa Stars were rewarded for the frantic pace they employed in the encounter through Mrisho Ngasa in the 55th minute.

Stars striker Dennis Oliech who gave Tanzania a torrid first half had a goal disallowed just before halftime as he was ajudged to have fouled a Tanzanian defender.

That served a wake up call for Muhidin’s side and Oliech went close twice shortly after the hour mark before Kevin Omondi struck the crossbar with powerful header from Oliech’s corner.


McDonald Mariga-Kenya (13’), Mrisho Ngasa (55’)


KENYA – 1.Wilson Obungu (Sofapaka): 4. Julius “Awillo” Owino, captain (Gor Mahia), 3. George Owino (Sofapaka), 16. Edgar “Fighter” Ochieng’ (Sofapaka), 5. Lloyd Wahome (Mathare United), 8. Patrick [Osiako] Ooko Mzee (Mjallby FC, Sweden/ 14. James Situma – Sofapaka, 75’), 9. George “BlackBerry” Odhiambo (Gor Mahia/ 6. Anthony Kimani – Sofapaka, 55’), 17. McDonald Mariga (Internazionale, Italy), 10. Dennis Oliech (Auxere, France), 12. John Baraza (Sofapaka/ 11. Allan Wanga – Sofapaka, 55’), 13. Kevin Omondi (Gor Mahia/ 7. Paul Were – Tusker, 75’)
Reserves not used – 18. Lawrence Webo, Gk (AFC Leopards), 15. Ibrahim Shikanda (Azam United, Tanzania), 14. James Mulinge (Ulinzi)

TANZANIA – 1. Shaban Hassan: 14. Shadrack Nsajigwa (captain), 15. Idissa Rajab (4. Athman Iddi, 66’), 5. Kevin Yondan (6. Aggrey Morris, 46’), 13. Nadir “Canavarro” Haroub, 12. Nurdin Bakari, 16. Jabir Aziz (20. Mohamed Homoud, 75’), 19. Abdi Kassim, 8. Mrisho Ngasa, 10. Jerson Tegete (11. Mussa “Hassan” Mgosi, 26’), 17. Uhuru Seleman (Seleman Kassim, 48’),
Reserves not used – 18. Jackson Chove, 2. Salum Kanoni, 9. John Bocco, 3. Stephano Mwasika