Duo recalled back to sevens team


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 3- Ben Nyambu and Sidney Ashioya have been recalled to the Kenya Sevens side for this weekend’s Safaricom Sevens tournament at the Rugby Football Union of East Africa (RFUEA) grounds.Dennis Muhanji has been drafted into Kenya’s second side Shujaa alongside Allan Onyango, Wilson Kopondo and Andrew Amonde.

“We’re not going to change the way we play this weekend. We took two years to work on our current game plan, it can’t change overnight,” said national coach Benjamin Ayimba after naming both teams on Thursday.

The defending champions are top seeds and will face Les Bleu, Zambia and Samurai in Pool A.

“Samurai of course are a very good team. Zambia on a good day will be a tough nut to crack and Les Bleu being the emerging side will also be tough given that their main team gave us a run for our money in UK,” said Ayimba.

Humphrey Kayange and company failed to set the pulse racing in the last two rounds of the International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens series where they clinched the shield title in London and were knocked out of the bowl competition a week later in Edinburgh.

Ayimba said that the pressure being heaped on his team to perform is understandable but added that pressure also translates on the pitch where Kenya is no longer regarded as an also ran.

“We have given Kenyans a taste of success and as usual they want more and more. What they should understand is that with that success other teams work harder to beat us so it takes abit more time to become the best,” said Ayimba.

Kenya will open the defence of their title against Samurai at 11.20 am on Saturday morning followed by Zambia at 2.20 pm and will then end their first day in the last match of the day against Les Bleu at 5.20 pm.

The tourney kicks off on Friday with the schools, women’s and veterans tournaments.

Kenya Squad:

Humphrey Kayange, Lavin Asego, Collins Injera, Gibson Weru, Victor Sudi, Leon Adongo, Sidney Ashioya, Dennis Mwanja, Brian Nyikuli, Ben Nyambu, Horace Otieno and Biko Adema.



Wilson Kopondo, Andrew Amonde, Dennis Muhanji, Patrice Agunda, Allan Onyango, Peter Abuoga, Naftali Bondo, Ken Isindu, Oscar Ouma, Vincent Mose, Nato Simiyu and Charles Kanyi.