Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Anthony primed for Jamhuri battle

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 4- Defending champion Steve Anthony is spoiling for a fight as drivers prepare for Sunday’s buggy action.
Anthony, a former multiple open class motocross Champion and twice Safari Rally Group N winner, renews his rivalry with veteran Simon Sharpe, former buggy champion Ricky Aslam and Keith Henrie who has returned impressive timings over the past two seasons of his racing. 

“Racing has been quite addictive as you are always looking for new limits every time you revisit to the track,” said Anthony.

Anthony has indeed taken the bull by its horns vis-à-vis earning two bonus points for setting the Fastest Time of the Day (FTD) on the last two meetings.

The third round of the Kenya National Autocross Championship gets gutsy for some pure adrenaline action lined-up for spectators at the Jamhuri Park racetrack.

And with a flawless 44 points score under his belt, Anthony is in fact the man to beat as he seeks to secure higher limits on the technical Jamhuri circuit.

Meanwhile, preparations are taking shape in the wake of Kenya Motor Sports Foundation approving Additional Supplementary Regulations (ASRs) for Sunday’s event being organized by Kenya Motor Sports Club (KMSC).

Former buggy driver Imran Mogul has been appointed the Clerk of the Course. The event starter is incidentally the former rally ace Dave Anunda while Raju Chana is the KMSF steward and John Kamau the club steward representing KMSC.

Indeed, the roar of turbo-charged rally cars should also spice up the occasion which commences with an early morning practice session.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The practice lap precedes the day’s heat runs with which the best three will count towards the cumulative time score.

What’s more, Sunday’s showdown is sure to offer spectators a bonus as they bear witness to some hair-raising youngsters’ thrills from Arthur Kinyanjui a.k.a. AK47, Ken Anunda and Charles Mugo.

The three teenagers have been the darling of fans possibly due to their likable demeanor as well as their good humored banter on sundry occasions.

The Mombasa based duo of Tarveen Singh Oshan and Karan Rathod have also confirmed their participation. Hardeep Rehsi, Sucki Parmar, Denise Walimohamed Sukhminder Jandu, Kyle Lucas and Neer Shah have signed up for the race and raring to go.


1. Steve Anthony          44
2. Simon Sharpe           30
3. Ricky Aslam             29
4. Keith Henrie             27
5. Athur Kinyanjui        26
6. Shalien Mughal        23
7. Samir Khan               18
8. Glen Behr                 17
9. Ken Anunda             17
10. Amit Bhatt              15
11. Charles Mugo         14
12. Bobby Sehmi          12
13. Teddy Ghir             11
14. Tarveen Oshan       7
15. Salim Walimohamed 6

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved