Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Kenya shines in Austria and Japan

VIENNA, April 18 – Kenya scored a double at the Vienna marathon on Sunday with Henry Sugut and Hellen Kimutai winning the men's and women's races respectively.

Sugut clocked 2hr 8min 40secs for the 42.195km race to claim victory ahead of compatriot Joseph Lomala Kimospo.

In another Kenyan podium one-two, Kimutai finished ahead of Irene Kemunto in a time of 2:31:05.

Meanwhile, Nicholas Chelimo led Kenya’s podium sweep in the men’s race at the Nagano marathon on Sunday while Australia’s Lisa Weightman won the women’s event.

The 27-year-old Chelimo, who finished fifth in the Amsterdam marathon last year, crossed the line in 2hr 10min 24sec with Japan-based Peter Kariuki second in 2:11:30 and Shadrack Kiplagat third in 2:12:49.

Weightman won the women’s race with a time of 2:28:48 and Olena Burkovska of Ukraine was second in 2:31:53. Japan’s Eri Hayakawa came in third at 2:33:05.

Nagano results:


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

1. Nicholas Chelimo (KEN) 2:10.24, 2. Peter Kariuki (KEN) 2:11.30, 3. Shadrack Kiplagat (KEN) 2:12.49, 4. Masaru Takamizawa (JPN) 2:13.04, 5. Etsu Miyata (JPN) 2:13.19


1. Lisa Weightman (AUS) 2:28.48, 2. Olena Burkovska (UKR) 2:31.53, 3. Eri Hayakawa (JPN) 2:33.05, 4. Kiyoko Shimahara (JPN) 2:34.46, 5. Irene Limika (KEN) 2:36.26

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved