Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Muchemi tops the charts

NAIROBI, Kenya, January 25- Ben Muchemi was crowned 2009 Motor Personality of the Year at the annual Kenya Motorsports Foundation (KMSF) awards ceremony at Rangers Club on Sunday.
The never say never rally driver won the award after surviving cancer and participating in all eight rounds of the 2009 KCB Kenya National Rally Championship. Three times national champion Azar Anwar was last year’s recipient of the award.

“I am flabbergasted by this award. It’s the biggest surprise I ever had since coming out of a coma. I dedicate this award to my daughters Shiro and Shiko who are not here today,” said Muchemi.

The Subaru N10 driver underwent treatment at the Asian Institute of Gastroenterology in India and miraculously made a comeback to the cockpit with verve and vigor.

Muchemi beat fellow veteran driver Ian Duncan and Yamaha motocross rider Shivam Vinayak to the big award.

In the Special Awards category, MX50 rider David Murigi won the Neil Granger Brown trophy for the most improved motorcycle personality.

Arthur Kinyanjui “AK 47” was voted the most improved autocross driver. The Kulwant Chana Memorial trophy (media) went to the Standard Group while the Johnny Hellier Memorial for contribution in motorsports was bestowed to Jackie Holt.

Kenya Motor Sport Club won the Mike Vaughan-Ryall Memorial Trophy for best organization.

The William Kimaru Memorial trophy for the most improved navigator was awarded to Oil Libya Racing’s Julius Ngigi who is the navigator of Azar Anwar.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Tanveer Alam memorial trophy for the best improved rally driver was awarded to Kirit Rajput while the John Ngunjiri Memorial trophy for the most consistent KNRC crew was given to Formula two driver Munir Khan and physically challenged co-driver Sam Jethwa.
KCB KNRC & Group N driver: Carl “Flash” Tundo
KCB KNRC & Group N co-driver: Tim Jessop
KCB 2WD driver: Jasmeet Chana
2WD co-driver: Sudhir Thatti
KCB Classic Car Cup driver: Stefano Rocca
KCB Classic Car Cup co-driver: Franco Donadel
KCB Youngster Challenge: Peter Horsey
KNRC Division 2 driver: Asad Khan
KNRC Division 2 co-driver: Kiran Patel
KNRC Division 3 driver: Said Hamad
KNRC Division 3 co-driver: Ravi Soni
Motocross: Murigu Njiiri (MX50), Apollo Mbuki (MX65), Adil Khan (MX85), Cruze Muigai (MX85) and Shivam Vinayak (MX1).
Enduro: 125cc class: Shivam Vinayak; overall champion: Harry Guelker
Autocross: Steve Anthony
Cross-country: Car Class-Sammy Jessel; Bike-Harry Guelker; Quad-Shazar Anwar; Buggy-Jeremy Andrade.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, June 8 – Olympic Champion Caster Semenya and wife Violet Raseboya have hinted that they might be expecting a baby in a...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 15 – Daniel Wanjiru, the 2017 London Marathon champion has been slapped with a four-year ban by the World Athletics Disciplinary...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved