Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Messi in line for FIFA honour

PARIS, December 21 – Barcelona's Argentine superstar Lionel Messi is the hot favourite to win the FIFA World Player of the Year award, which will be announced by world football's governing body in Zurich on Monday.

MESSIThe dazzling winger has already been honoured with the prestigious Ballon d’Or, the European Player of the Year trophy, and he picked up his sixth prize of an unforgettable year with Barcelona after scoring the winning goal in their 2-1 win over Estudiantes in the final of the World Club Cup on Saturday.

"We’ve just ended a historic year, a perfect year in which we’ve won every competition we’ve played in," said the 22-year-old, who vanquished his Argentine compatriots Estudiantes with an innovative chested finish in extra-time of their Abu Dhabi showdown.

"We just needed to take this last step and everything has worked out how we wanted. It’s amazing. It’s difficult to put into words."

Barcelona’s incredible 2009, in which they additionally won the league, the Spanish Cup, the Champions League, the European Super Cup and the Spanish Super Cup, has also led to nominations for midfield pair Xavi and Andres Iniesta.

"If you’re talking about all the trophies, then there’s no other side that has achieved what we have this year," Messi added in an interview with the FIFA website.

"We are happy at having made history but make no mistake, we’ll be out to win everything again next year."

Real Madrid pair Kaka and Cristiano Ronaldo, the reigning award-holder and world’s most expensive player, complete the five-man list of nominees but Messi is widely expected to pip them both, having already beaten Ronaldo to the Ballon d’Or earlier in the month.

The only black mark on Messi’s year was the struggle endured by Argentina in World Cup qualifying, but they eventually squeezed through and next summer’s South African showpiece will give him the opportunity to join the pantheon of the truly great alongside his national boss Diego Maradona.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Aside from the men’s prize, FIFA will select the Women’s World Player of the Year from a shortlist featuring Germans Birgit Prinz and Inka Grings, England’s Kelly Smith and Brazilian pair Cristiane and favourite Marta.

FIFA will also unveil its inaugural Team of the Year, while the Ferenc Puskas prize — named in honour of the 1950s Hungarian great – will be presented to the scorer of the year’s best goal.



(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)


  1. Kitonga

    July 16, 2013 at 10:03 am

    the mole!! the true colour.

  2. Knights Templar

    July 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Saul to Paul? Sounds ominous considering Paul of Tarsus is accused of fabricating his version of Xtianity by critical scholars…LOL

  3. Kwessi Pratt

    July 16, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    I said it! You are headed to other side of the baricade. Thus, those who were suspicious of you during campaigns were pretty right! Apart from “free delivery” Jubilee hasnt done all the many things that they promised to happen in 100 days. However, scavengers land where there are signs of carcas, even if it were just a few straps of afterbirth!

  4. Benard Gutwa

    July 16, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    It depends on which side you are looking things from.Your comment(s) speak volume but lack credibility perse.

    • timna

      April 14, 2014 at 6:14 am

      very true

  5. Joyce

    July 17, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Thats very true but get ready for many opposers bro. In swahili we say “ukweli huuma”

    • Kwessi Pratt

      July 17, 2013 at 12:07 pm

      Tell us where this truth is? Favor seeking aside, take us minute by minute of what they achieved as per their promises.

  6. lukati

    July 18, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    If you have moved to Jubilee fine you among the people who messed the cord campaigns

  7. MajorT

    July 19, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    A badly written ABSTRACT. There are no detailed examples of what the JUB’s have really accomplished or tried to, in the first 100 days. KNUT, COTU do not represent all Wananchi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 6 – Harambee Stars goalkeeper Patrick Matasi is hoping that the airports will be re-opened soon to allow him fly back...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 17 – The Kakamega High School ‘Green Commandos’ have produced a plethora of talent over the past decades in Kenyan football...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 11 – ‘Dok skul! Kijana dok skul!’ (Go back to school! Young boy go back to school!’). Those were the words...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved