More accolades for Sofapaka


NAIROBI, Kenya, December 1 –Sofapaka dominate this year’s Footballers of the Year Awards (FOYA) list of nominees released on Tuesday.
SOFAPAKA_TEAM_The Kenya Premier League (KPL) champions feature in six of the seven categories up of the grabs following a fairytale season in which they won their maiden title at the first time of asking.

Harambee Stars striker John Baraza and teammate James Situma have both been nominated for Best Player of the Year.

Sofapaka coach Robert Matano features in the Coach of the Year  category where he will be up against former Stars and Mathare United tactician Francis Kimanzi, Tusker’s James Nandwa’s and Gor Mahia’s Gideon Ochieng.

Situma has also been recognized in the Fair Player category while midfielder Patrick Kagogo and goalkeeper Wilson Oburu have been nominated in the New Player and Goalkeeper of the Year respectively.

Gor Mahia midfielder Peter Opiyo could go home with a haul of awards after he was nominated in the Best, New and Fair Play awards.

Opiyo has been joined by his club and national team mate George Odhiambo in the New Player category while another ‘K’ogalo’ player Francis Akango has been included in the Defender of the Year.

Veteran Titus Mulama is also in line to win more than one award having been nominated in both the Fairplay and Midfielder of the Year categories.

Apart from Oburu, 2008 goalkeeper of the year Noah Ayuko will be battling with Thika United’s David Okello, Mathare’s Duncan Ochieng and Jackton Odiambo of Ulinzi.

The awards will take place on December 9.

2009 Nominees:

Fair Play Player of the Year

Titus Mulama- Mathare United
Dennis Okoth-City Stars
David Otieno-Sony Sugar
Mark Sirengo-Western Stima
James Situma- Sofapaka

New Player of the Year

Patrick Kagogo-Sofapaka
George Odhiambo-Gor Mahia
Peter Opiyo-Gor Mahia
David Otieno-City Stars
Andrew Tololwa- Mathare United

Goalkeeper of the Year

Noah Ayuko-Sher Karuturi
Wilson Oburu- Sofapaka
Duncan Ochieng- Mathare United
Duncan Okello-Thika United
Jackton Odhiambo-Ulinzi Stars

Defender of the Year

Francis Akango- Gor Mahia
Jockins Atudo- Tusker FC
Geoffrey Kokoyo- Ulinzi Stars
Pascal Ochieng- KCB
Edgar Odhiambo-Mathare United

Midfielder of the Year

Humphrey Mieno- KCB
Titus Mulama- Mathare United
Chrispin Olando- Thika United
Peter Opiyo-Gor Mahia
James Situma- Sofapaka

Best Player of the Year

John Baraza-Sofapaka
Joseph Nyaga- Mathare United
Edgar Ochieng- Mathare United
Peter Opiyo- Gor Mahia
James Situma- Sofapaka

Coach of the Year

Abdalla Juma- Thika United
Francis Kimanzi – Mathare United
Robert Matano- Sofapaka
James Nandwa- Tusker FC
Gideon Ochieng- Gor Mahia