Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tundo puts misery behind him

NAIROBI, Kenya, September 6- Carl Tundo ended three months of heartache and mechanical drawbacks to win the Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) Visa Card Rally on Sunday.

The win revives Tundo’s title chase after it had been threatened with two successive retirements in Nanyuki and Nakuru and sees him remain on top with 360 points.

TUNDO_1_With Ian Duncan (Nissan Patrol P/U) and speedster Rose (Evolution 9) settling for second and third overall, Tundo was a relieved man as he drove into Whistling Thorns in Kiserian.

Tundo’s victory was his fourth of the season leaving no doubts about his quest to regain the title he lost to Baldev Chager last season.

While Tundo was celebrating, his Dalbit teammate Alastair Cavenagh was excruciated with his exit on the 14.2km CS2 Marble-Elengata section.  Defending Champion Chager had to contend with a second successive retirement of the season with gearbox problems.  

“We broke the rear arm on the second stage and suspected it had cracked,” said Cavenagh.

The rockery tour of Kajiado was unforgiving considering manifold mechanical gremlins, more so punctures that the crews had to contend with. Rose’s charge was marred with two punctures.

The trick in Kajiado was to simply place your wheel on the right path and the ability to shirk from the rocks in the dry and dusty day.

Tundo’s navigator Tim Jessop attributed their success to good navigation in the rockery.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“If you took the right path then you could skip the rocks effectively well,” Tim said.

A total of 33 cars started the rally and only 17 managed the demanding course. Only one retirement in George Njuguna (Alpha Romeo) was recorded in 2WD out of 11 starters.

This was the highest retirement of the season. Casualties included Dinesh Sachania and Stefano Roca who crashed on CS3. Ben Muchemi also retired early on CS2 and so were Susheel Shah and Robert Gow.

VW Golf Gti driver Jasmeet Chana has inched closer to recapturing the 2WD title after winning in Kajiado Sunday.

Chana navigated by Sudhir Thatti drove to the Whistling Thorns finish near Kiserian elated with his second successive win.

Chana who won the 2WD Championship in 2007 beat a fast rising James Kirimi by 50seconds to stay on top of things.

“I an happy with the win. It’s a great stride to the title campaign,” said Chana. James Kirimi who made his rallying debut last year achieved his second ever podium position and by extension his second runners up position in his rising career.

Adnan Suhail who is driving the ex-Martin Gitata championship winning Daihatsu Charade secured his first ever podium position in third exhilarated and focused.

Defending champion Leo Varese had to contend with fourth overall slot as the title campaign hots up.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.



.Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (Evo9) 1h47m.02

Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch (Nissan Patrol)1h48m18s

Lee Rose/Moses Matovu (EVO9) 1h55m09s

Asad Anwar/ Kashif Sheikh (Evo 9) 1h59m09s

Azar Anwar/ Julius Ngigi (Evo 8) 2h01m27s

Don Smith Sonal Smith (Subaru N12) 2h03m08

Anthion y Nieslen/Michael Ogwapit (Subaru) 2h04m59s

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Kirit Rajput/ Ravi Soni (Subaru N10) 2h05m23s

Asad Khan/Charles Kibue (Subaru N10) 2h07m15s

Said Hamad/Victor Okundi (Subaru) 2h17m24s

Gianluca Ciaraldi/Farhaaz Khan (Evo 7) 2h19m47s

Jonathan Savage/Gavin Lawrence (Datsun 260Z) 2h20m28s

Charan Thethy/Atul Kochal (Subaru) 2h29m23s

Shaun Miller/Allasdair Keith (Evo 6) 2h35m54s


Jasmeet Chana/Sudhir Thatti (VW Golf Gti)   1h09m34s

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

James Kirimi/Kimeli Korir (VW Golf Gti)                    1h10m24s

Adnan Suhail/Zahir Shah (Daihatstu)             1h10m37s

Leo Varese/Kigondu Kareithi (VW Golf Gti)   1h10m38s

Charles Hinga/Evans Mwenda (Toyota Levin)           1h11m31s

Ishpal Bilkhu/Paramjeet Sembi (Toyota Levin)          1h16m30s

Munir Khan/Sam Jethwa (Toyota Levin)                    1h18m46s

Zahid Omar/Imran Khan (Mitsubishi Celeste)           1h24m42s

Gurmit Thethy/Depinder Kalsi (VW Golf GTi)            1h36m20s

George Njuguna/Eric Nzuva (alpha Romeo)  1h41m46s

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.



More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 6 – Gentrix Shikangwa scored with two minutes left as Vihiga Queens sailed to the final of the CECAFA regional qualifiers...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...

© 2023 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved