Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tikolo nominated for award

NAIROBI, September 2- Former Kenya captain Steve Tikolo has been nominated for the International Cricket Council (ICC) Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award.

TIKOLO_1_It is the second nomination Tikolo has received in the last couple of years after being shortlisted for the same award a couple of years ago that was won by his countryman Thomas Odoyo.

Tikolo retired as national captain earlier this year after leading his country to qualification for its sixth straight world cup in 2011.

Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien and William Poterfield, Neil McCallum of Scotland and Dutchman Ryan ten Doeschate are the other notable players in the running for the award.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan have been nominated for three awards each.

Dhoni and Dilshan are in the running for the prestigious ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards.
Dilshan has also been nominated for the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year award.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Johannesburg on October 1 during the Champions Trophy.

The nominations, based on performances from August 13, 2008 to August 24, 2009, were made by a five-member selection panel headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

The panel also included former cricketers Anil Kumble of India, Mudassar Nazar of Pakistan, Bob Taylor of England and New Zealand’s Stephen Fleming.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

"The awards are an opportunity for the ICC and FICA (Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations) to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable performances of the world’s top players," said Lorgat.

"This will be the sixth time the awards have been handed out and yet again there are so many great performances to recall.

Selecting the winners will no doubt test our selectors and voting academy."

Cricketer of the Year: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS), Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Gautam Gambhir (IND), Shakib Al Hasan (BAN), Mitchell Johnson (AUS), Graham Onions (ENG), Thilan Samaraweera (SRI), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Harbhajan Singh (IND), Graeme Smith (RSA), Andrew Strauss (ENG), Daniel Vettori (NZL), AB de Villiers (RSA).

Test Player of the Year: Stuart Broad (ENG), Michael Clarke (AUS), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Gautam Gambhir (IND), Shakib Al Hasan (BAN), Mitchell Johnson (AUS), Venkatsai Laxman (IND), Jesse Ryder (NZL), Thilan Samaraweera (SRI), Ramnaresh Sarwan (WIS), Peter Siddle (AUS), Harbhajan Singh (IND), Graeme Smith (RSA), Dale Steyn (RSA), Andrew Strauss (ENG), Graeme Swann (ENG), Daniel Vettori (NZL), AB de Villiers (RSA).

ODI Player of the Year: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Andrew Flintoff (ENG), Chris Gayle (WIS), Umar Gul (PAK), Martin Guptill (NZL), Michael Hussey (AUS), Nuwan Kulasekara (SRI), Ajantha Mendis (SRI), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI), Yuvraj Singh (IND), Virender Sehwag (IND), Thilan Thushara (SRI).
Emerging Player: Martin Guptill (NZL), Ben Hilfenhaus (AUS), Philip Hughes (AUS), Amit Mishra (IND), Graham Onions (ENG), Kemar Roach (WIS), Jesse Ryder (NZL), Peter Siddle (AUS).

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Rizwan Cheema (CAN), Khurram Chohan (CAN), Alex Cusack (IRL), Ryan ten Doeschate (NED), Trent Johnston (IRL), Neil McCallum (SCO), Kevin O’Brien (IRL), Niall O’Brien (IRL), William Porterfield (IRL), Boyd Rankin (IRL), Edgar Schiferli (NED), Steve Tikolo (KEN), Regan West (IRL), Bas Zuiderent (NED).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Shahid Afridi (PAK), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Dwayne Bravo (WIS), Alex Cusack (IRL), Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Chris Gayle (WIS), Umar Gul (PAK), David Hussey (AUS), Sanath Jayasuriya (SRI), Zaheer Khan (IND), Ajantha Mendis (SRI), Wayne Parnell (RSA), Abdur Razzak (BAN), David Warner (AUS).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 13 – Kenya’s history making Daniel Adongo, the first Kenyan to play in America’s National Football League (NFL), is now living...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – DStv and GOtv subscribers are in for a treat of the world’s best football this week as the 2020-21...


NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 6 – Gentrix Shikangwa scored with two minutes left as Vihiga Queens sailed to the final of the CECAFA regional qualifiers...

© 2022 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved