Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Stars squad named

NAIROBI, Kenya, July 23 – Mathare United stalwart Edgar Ochieng has again been left out of the provisional national football squad named to start preparations for their 2010 World Cup qualifier against Mozambique.STARSNational team coach Antoine Hey had hinted that he would recall players left out because of the infamous letter of commitments but Ochieng’s name was conspicuously missing from the 26 man squad named on Thursday.

No Mathare United player was named in the squad as the feud between the coach the reigning league champions continues unabated with Duncan Ochieng and Titus Mulama, Anthony Kimani all missing out.

Three Gor Mahia players were named in the team with George Odhiambo, Duncan Owiti and Ibrahim Kitavi all set to make their debuts after receiving their first ever call ups.

Thika United’s Abdulatif Omar and Dennis Mukaisi are also in the team for the first time while former Gor Mahia goalkeeper Jacktone Odhiambo makes a comeback to the side after a year out during which he was in military training.

Former Tusker striker Frankline Obare who is currently with AFC leopards has also been recalled as has Chemilil’s John Mwangi who is only just back in the country after a stint in Tanzania.

The team will start camp on Sunday ahead of the September 6 clash away to Mozambique.

Stars are currently lying third in the group with three points after winning one match and losing two. They started their campaign with a 2-1 loss to Tunisia in Nairobi in March and followed with a 3-0 hiding at the hands of the Super Eagles of Nigeria in Abuja in June.

A hard fought 2-1 win over Mozambique on June 20 got the team’s campaign back on track.

But while the World Cup is all but a pipe dream, a good result against the Mambas in Maputo on September 6 will put them in pole position to qualify for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Goalkeepers: David Okello, Wilson Oburu and Jacktone Odhiambo.

Defenders: Pascal Ochieng, Julius Owino, Geoffrey Kokoyo, George Owino, Abdulatif Omar, Thomas Wanyama, Jack Situma and Jotckins Atudo.

Midfielders: Jerry Santos, Abdulrazak Alwy, Chrispine Olando, Ibrahim Kitavi, Peter Opiyo, Fred Ajwang, Evans Wandera and Humphrey Mieno.

Strikers: Abdulwahab Musa, George Odhiambo, Duncan Owiti, Frankline Obare, John Mwangi, Dennis Mukaisi and Joseph Njuguna.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)


  1. felix mwanzia

    July 24, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    the inclusion of Gor Mahia's kitawi was long over due. the guy is talented. George Odhiambo looks very promising but frankline Obare n Dennis Mukaisi have only played several games in the league n they don't look sharp. the omission of kenya's best defenders in Edgar Ochieng and Mulinge Munandi means we will not play our best backline. the striking looks wanting. John Baraza has been scoring goals and he is missing from the squad. the same can be said of sofa paka's new recruit jacob keli. peter Opiyo and Evans Wandera have not been playing, oflate.

  2. ann kimemia

    February 28, 2013 at 8:17 am

    Am glad this whole talk focuses on men! Thats why women are thought to be “good” because they do it and their men are too blind to take notice.

  3. Pen

    February 28, 2013 at 10:04 am


  4. Daisy Atieno

    February 28, 2013 at 10:05 am

    That’s why we women cheat on them and they never suspect because they think they are the bad ones and us too good..i pity men with their naivety.

  5. Sam Njuwe

    February 28, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    The disease that is generalization… SMH
    Uncle Stan, you have not met every man in this world. It is therefore impractical to say we’re all the same or we all cheat.
    I have never cheated. And that’s something I would gladly say with Bible in hand.
    I am happy with my girlfriend and am disturbed when I read such articles. It is because of such that good relationships start getting rocky.
    Please be objective. Or else, leave well alone.

  6. Mark Gitau

    February 28, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Sam njue…. is that out of choice or lack of opportunity….. id bet on lack of opportunity.

    • Sam Njuwe

      June 20, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Out of choice bro. And am not gonna waste time proving that to you.

  7. Karranja

    March 8, 2013 at 11:19 am

    depends on the breed, and the size of the leash,,, if your guy is a dobberman or a german shepherd well youve got ur work cut out, bt if yu got urself a poodle, chihuahua or a spitz ,,, uuuuhhhm enjoy the ride

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital Sports


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 25 – There is light at the end of the tunnel. After failed promises over the last three years since its...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 6 – Harambee Stars goalkeeper Patrick Matasi is hoping that the airports will be re-opened soon to allow him fly back...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 17 – The Kakamega High School ‘Green Commandos’ have produced a plethora of talent over the past decades in Kenyan football...


NAIROBI, Kenya, May 11 – ‘Dok skul! Kijana dok skul!’ (Go back to school! Young boy go back to school!’). Those were the words...

© 2020 Capital Digital Media. Capital Group Limited. All Rights Reserved