Kenya ready for Jordan assault


NAIROBI, Kenya, March 24 – National cross country captain Mark Kiptoo is confident his team can register a good performance at Saturday’s IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Amman, JordanKiptoo who received the national flag from Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Professor Helen Sambili on Tuesday said that his team has been inspired by Kenya’s past performances at the annual event.

“We are ready for the competition. We have done all that we believe will help see us through in Amman,” said Kiptoo who also captained Kenya in Edinburgh last year.

“Our heroes also visited us at the training camp who advised to fight as a team so that we can come back successful,” added the World Military Games 10,000m champion.

Kiptoo ssaid that they have worked extremely hard over the past month at their training base at Kigari Teachers Training College and are primed for containing the threat posed by the Kenya’s perennial rivals Ethiopia.

“We have been told to work together as a team. The first four or five laps are going to be crucial going into the last help and with God’s help, we shall win,” said Kiptoo.

Kiptoo was speaking after his team was treated to a farewell luncheon by national cross country sponsors Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) who promised to reward each winner in the four categories.

 “Each winner in the four categories will receive Sh250,000 from KCB for flying the Kenyan flag high and  a total of Sh1 million if we win all events,” said the banks CEO Martin Oduor Otieno.

Sambili also expressed confidence that the team will perform admirably in the Middle East.

 “I believe you are going to win because you (The team) have worked very hard to come this far and the whole country is behind you,” said Sambili.

 Sports Secretary Professor Wilson Lagat will be the head of the 32 member delegation which includes 24 athletes and eight officials.


Men’s 12km: Moses Mosop, Mathew Kisorio, Mark Kiptoo, Linus Chumba, Mangata Ndiwa, Leonard Komon.

Men’s 8km: John Kemboi, Paul Tanui, Japhet Korir, John Chepkwony, Titus Mbishei, Charles Bett Chepkurui.
Women 8km: Florence Kiplagat, Iness Chenonge, Linet Masai, Linet Chepkurui, Ann Karindi, Pauline Korikwiang
Women’s 6km: Mercy Cherono, Hilda Chepkemoi, Delvin Meringor, Jackline Chebii, Faith Chepngetich, and Nelly Chebet.
Coaches: Julius Kirwa, Johnstone Mwithiga, David Leting.