Haji and Kinoti among officials awarded Presidential State Honours

December 12, 2018 12:51 pm


NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 12 – Director of Public Prosecutions Noordin Haji and Director of Criminal Investigations are among Kenyans who have been conferred awards and honours.

Haji and Kinoti alongside Deputy Inspector General of Police Edward Mbugua were awarded The First Class: Chief of the Order Burning Spear, CBS.

The medals were presented to the recipients during a Jamhuri Day State Luncheon at State House, Nairobi, hosted by President Kenyatta and First Lady, Margaret Kenyatta.

Since their appointed to the posts early this year, Kinoti and Haji have boldly taken to bring high profile suspects to book over their alleged involvement in some of the country’s multi-billion shilling corruption scandals at various state corporations and ministries.

The new National Youth Service Director General Pamela Matilda Sakwa received the Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS, Second Class category) alongside 34 other recipients for their various distinguished roles in nation building.

Sixteen senior military officers in the rank of colonel led by Dr. Rotich Silvano, Dr Patrick Kimata and Dr. Thomas Njoroge received the Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear (MBS, third class) for their distinguished responsibilities in the military. A total of 74 recipients got this Award.

Administration Police Constable Joash Ombati received the Head of State Commendation (HSC) for his recent heroic rescue of a motorist who had been abducted by robbers who had also taken his money in Westlands area of Nairobi.

Six military officers in various ranks were decorated with the Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya (OGW) alongside 94 other deserving Kenyans.

Mombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho and his Machakos counterpart Dr. Alfred Mutua were awarded with the Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart(EGH- Second Class) alongside other eight governors among them Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga), Dr Joyce Laboso (Bomet), Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Alex Tolgos (Marakwet), Cornell Rasanga (Siaya), Josphat Nanok (Turkana), Samuel Tunai (Narok), and Martin Wambora (Embu).

Senator Gideon Moi of Baring County received the CBS Award ( First Class) alongside eight other MPs who included Kimani Ichung’wah (Kikuyu) and John Mbandi (Suba).

President Kenyatta also awarded the Head of State Commendation (HSC-military division) to 54 officers and 94 civilians.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed