President Kenyatta, Raila appoint committee of advisors on ‘handshake’

April 30, 2018 9:08 am
President Kenyatta and Opposition leader Raila Odinga when they met at the funeral service of Kenneth Matiba/PSCU

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 30 – A committee of 14 advisors to steer national dialogue under the ‘Building Bridges initiative’ has been appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition leader Raila Odinga.

Among those in the committee are Busia Senator Amos Wako, his Garissa counterpart Yusuf Haji, Adams Oloo, Agnes Kavindu, Florence Omose, Saeed Mwanguni and James Matundura.

The team is expected to work “under the direction of the building bridges initiative secretariat,” which is headed by Martin Kimani and Paul Mwangi.

The appointments come a few weeks after the Uhuru-Raila handshake that was received with mixed reactions.

When President Kenyatta and the opposition leader met at Harambee House, they expressed a desire to set aside their differences and initiate reforms to ensure prosperity, fairness and dignity for all Kenyans.

Here are the 14 names:

  1. Dr Adams Oloo
  2. Agnes Kavindu
  3. Senator Amos Wako
  4. Florence Omose
  5. Saeed Mwanguni
  6. Mzee James Matundura
  7. Major (rtd) John Seii
  8. Bishop Lawi Imathiu
  9. Hon Maison Leshomo
  10. Senator Mohamed Yusuf Haji
  11. Morompi ole Ronkai
  12. Bishop Peter Njenga
  13. Rose Moseu
  14. Zecheus Okoth

Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed