Senate Committee elections conclude Thursday

January 11, 2018 12:46 pm
Kiambu Senator Wamatangi was elected Chair of the Transport committee despite a walk out by opposition MPs/CFM

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Jan 11 – Senate House Committee elections come to a close Thursday with five committees lined up to cast their vote for their leaders of choice.

Finance and Budget, Devolved Government and Justice, Legal Affairs and Human Rights Committees will be the first to vote during the morning session.

The National Security, Defence and Foreign Relations Committee and Delegated Legislation Committee will then wrap up their elections in the afternoon.

Already, 11 out of the total 17 committees have elected their leaders with majority of the top seats won by the Jubilee Party.

National Super Alliance (NASA) has so far only managed to bag one position for Chairmanship with Homa Bay Senator Moses Kajwang elected on Wednesday unopposed to head the Public Accounts Investment Committee.

On Wednesday, Opposition members for the Transport and Roads Committee expressed displeasure on how the election was being conducted citing interference from the executive.

The lawmakers led by Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala, angered by the conduct of their colleagues in the Jubilee camp who were rubber stamping the nomination of their colleagues were forced to stage a walk out protesting the actions of their colleagues.

The actions of the Opposition members did not however deter the Jubilee Senators from proceeding with the voting.

Jubilee Party has five members sitting in the committees while NASA has four.

After electing their leaders, the Chairpersons of the committees are now at liberty to commence with sittings depending on their agenda.

Already, some of the committees which have elected their leaders have since declared that they will begin their sittings in earnest.

For instance Chair of the Roads and Transport Committee Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi on Wednesday said that they would convene their first sitting and meet with the National and Transport Authority (NTSA) officials.

Chair of the Education Committee and Bomet Senator Christopher Langat said they would also soon meet as a committee to deliberate on the changes that are currently happening in the Education sector especially the new changes in the curriculum.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed