Tribunal injuncts election of NASA nominees to regional assembly

December 13, 2017 7:13 pm
Oburu’s election is among those prohibited pending determination of the complaint/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 13 – The Political Parties Dispute Tribunal has issued an injunction stopping Parliament from approving nominees of  NASA to the East African Legislative Assembly until a case contesting their nominations is heard.

Following the directive, House Speakers Kenneth Lusaka and Justin Muturi may have to give direction on whether Parliament will proceed with the exercise.

Those affected by the order are: Oburu Odinga, Abubakar Zain, Beth Mutunga, Fatuma Ibrahim, Loy Mwandi Maviala, Abdikadir Aden of the Orange Democratic Movement and Norman Magaya, Kennedy Musyoka, Justus Mochoge, Jane Marwa, Winfred Mutua and  Angela Munyaysya.

“An interim injunction be and is hereby granted to halt the election of persons listed in the Notice motion at page 105 namely the 2nd to the 7th respondents and the 5th to 10th interested parties herein pending the inter-partes hearing and determination of this application,” reads part of the orders.

The interim injunction was issued following a successful application by Jimmy Parnyumbe Lukka, Narok West poll loser, who was also ordered to serve his petition on the respondents immediately.

“The notice of motion dated December 11, 2017 to be heard inter-partes on December 18, 2017 at 2.30pm,” reads the order.

Parnyumbe is questioning NASA’s EALA list claiming it does not meet the criteria set out in the Constitution.

Clerk of the National Assembly, Wiper Party, Clerk of the Senate, Amani National Congress and ODM have also been named as respondents.

Kenya’s failure to give her nominees has stalled operation in the regional assembly after Jubilee turned down the list of four presented by NASA, saying the rules required that they bring 12 names from where the House approves three.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed