NASA submits list of members to two crucial House Committees

December 4, 2017 5:12 pm
Mbadi will serve alongside Robert Mbui (Kathiani), Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini), Beatrice Adagala (Vihiga Woman Rep), and Junet in the powerful Procedure and House Rules Committee/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya Dec 4 – The National Super Alliance (NASA) has finally submitted its list of names of legislators it has selected to serve in two crucial House Committees.

In a letter to National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi, Minority Leader John Mbadi communicated the nomination of Junet Mohammed (Suna East), Florence Mutua (Busia Woman Rep), Godfrey Osotsi (Nominated), Makali Mulu (Kitui Central), Owen Baya (Kilifi North), Esther Passaris (Nairobi Woman Rep), Ahmed Abdisalan Ibrahim (Wajir North) to the Committee on Selection.

The Committee on Selection nominates members to serve in Departmental, Standing and Select Committees.

Mbadi will serve alongside Robert Mbui (Kathiani), Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini), Beatrice Adagala (Vihiga Woman Rep), and Junet in the powerful Procedure and House Rules Committee.

The Procedure and House Rules Committee may propose rules for the orderly and effective conduct of committee business and any such rules, shall upon approval by the House, continue in force until amended or repealed by the House.

Some NASA affiliate parties threatened to walk out of the Coalition last week citing domination by Orange Democratic Movement in the list.

MPs mainly from the Coast and Western region protested the list of House Leadership submitted to Parliament last week for lack of regional and gender representation.

This prompted principals Raila Odinga, Musalia Mudavadi and Moses Wetang’ula to convene a crisis meeting on how to share slots in Parliament.

The meeting which was held over the weekend agreed to give the chairmanship of Public Accounts Committee (PAC) in the National Assembly to Nambale MP Sakwa Bunyasi and a slot in the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) to Vihiga Senator George Khaniri, both from Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC) party.

Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa will take up a slot in the PSC, while Mvita MP Abdulswamad Nassir will deputise in the powerful Public Investment Committee (PIC).

Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior who is also the Wiper Party Secretary-General retains his Senate Minority Whip post, as Mbui retains the Deputy Minority Leader in the National Assembly slot.

Senate Minority Leader Moses Wetang’ula (Ford Kenya), will be deputised by Siaya Senator James Orengo.

The Minority Coalition have remained adamant that they will not submit names to the Committee on Appointments which is responsible for vetting Cabinet appointments.

In the letter to the Speaker, NASA has insists it does not recognise the legitimacy of the October 26 Fresh President Election that won President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto a second term in office.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed