MPs ready to take vote on Kenya’s representatives to regional legislature

December 13, 2017 1:05 pm
Opposition leader Kalonzo Musyoka’s son Kennedy is among those in the running/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 13 – Members of Parliament are on Thursday set to elect nine members who will represent Kenya in the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Speakers of both houses of Parliament have urged the legislators not to travel out of the country before then to allow for a smooth election process out of the 25 nominees who are eyeing the Arusha-based regional assembly job.

Members of the National Assembly will be the first to cast their ballot in Thursday’s morning session for their preferred candidates while their colleagues in the Senate will conduct the voting exercise in the afternoon.

The election to be done by all MPs through secret ballot has sparked intense lobbying with the nominees seen canvassing at Parliament precincts hoping to be among those who will be elected.

With their numerical strength in Parliament, Jubilee Party is to produce five candidates while the National Super Alliance (NASA) is to get four slots.

Among those fronted by President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Party include: former National Assembly Clerk Justin Bundi, former Constitution Implementation Commission (CIC) boss Charles Nyachae and Bishop Jackson Kosgei from Baringo.

The ruling party also nominated Florence Sergon (Baringo), Irene Cherop (Elgeyo Marakwet), Julie Njeri (Nyandarua), Joe Muriithi (Nyeri), Dorice Donya (Kisii), Eunice Wanjiru (Trans Nzoia) and former Nyeri nominated MCA Elizabeth Wangui.

Former MPs Mpuru Aburi (Tigania East), Wanjiku Muhia (Nyandarua), Simon Mbugua (Kamukunji), Abdulaziz Farah (Mandera East) and Adan Noor (Mandera North) were also submitted for consideration by the Jubilee Party.

On Wednesday, Jubilee Members of Parliament who were conspicuously missing from Wednesday’s morning session were believed to be holed up in a meeting at State House to deliberate on its list of candidates.

Those nominated by NASA includeformer Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s brother Oburu Odinga, NASA Chief Executive Officer Norman Magaya and Kalonzo Musyoka’s son Kennedy Musyoka.

Former MPs Fatuma Ibrahim (Wajir), Abdikadir Aden (Balambala) and former EALA MP Abubakar Zain are also on the list.

Others in the running are Jane Marwa, Beth Mutunga, Loy Mwaviala, Angela Munyasya, Justus Mochoge and Winfred Mutua.

Kenya is the only state in the East African Community that is yet to submit the names of its nine representatives.

Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Burundi and Rwanda have already submitted the names of their representatives.



Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed