Lines drawn ahead of debate on membership to lucrative House committees

December 13, 2017 7:30 pm
A section of Jubilee MPs have rejected the list of House committee chairs/FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 13 – A showdown looms between Members of the National Assembly and their respective party leaders after they vowed to reject a list of nominees to chair House Committees and members of the prestigious Public Service Commission (PSC).

This comes after a section of Jubilee Party MPs who attended a parliamentary group meeting at State House, Nairobi voiced the dissatisfaction with the list that had been presented by President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto.

The MPs vowed to reject the nomination of Senators Beth Mugo (Nominated) and Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Adan Keynan (Eldas) and Naomi Shaban (Taveta) to the PSC.

They accused the party leaders of recycling members to the lucrative commission and demanded freedom to independently elect candidates of their choice.

They said that both Mugo and Keynan had failed to take care of the interests when they both served as the Commission’s Vice-Chairperson in the 11th Parliament and 10th Parliament respectively.

The discord was similarly recorded in the NASA Coalition after Wiper MPs demanded their slot in the PSC.

Ben Momanyi (Borabu) stood on a point of order to challenge the proposed list which had been submitted to the House by Minority Leader John Mbadi (Suba South) saying that he had been shortchanged out of the post.

An agitated Momanyi protested the exclusion of his name and which was replaced with Vihiga Senator George Khaniri from the Amani National Congress.

But Mbadi and Deputy Minority Leader Chris Wamalwa accused the Borabu MP of over-exaggerating the issue which can be handled through the Coalition’s dispute resolution mechanisms.

They urged the Speaker to give them time to deliberate on the matter before it’s debated in the House on Thursday.

Kisumu West MP Alago Oluoch backed the request to postpone further deliberations on the matter.

He cited that it was premature and unprocedural for MPs to be debating the issue which is not formally before the House.

The House Majority Leader Aden Duale had earlier demanded a ruling from House Speaker Justin Muturi on whether a parliamentary party such as Wiper is entitled to a post.

The Speaker however, advised the Minority Coalition leadership in the House to address the matter through its internal dispute resolution mechanism before the MPs begin considering the Motion otherwise he will have to give an appropriate decision on how the House should move forward.

NASA has presented the names of Aisha Jumwa (Malindi), Khaniri, Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay).


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed