Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


Verification of poll results begins at National Tallying Centre

The 15 constituencies whose original forms had been submitted at the time Chebukati addressed a news conference were Mathare, Nambale, Mwala, Mwingi West, Ndaragwa, Dagoretti South, Kajiado South, Embakasi North, Kajiado Central, Roysambu, Turbo, Ndia, Bomet East, Kandara and Kathiani/FRANCIS MBATHA

NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 27 – Verification of poll results from Thursday’s presidential election got underway at the Bomas of Kenya Friday following the arrival of 15 original Forms 34B from Constituency Tallying Centres.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairperson Wafula Chebukati told a press briefing at the National Tallying Centre that the forms will be verified against supporting Forms 34A compiled at respective polling stations in given constituencies.

The 15 constituencies whose original forms had been submitted at the time Chebukati addressed a news conference were Mathare, Nambale, Mwala, Mwingi West, Ndaragwa, Dagoretti South, Kajiado South, Embakasi North, Kajiado Central, Roysambu, Turbo, Ndia, Bomet East, Kandara and Kathiani.

“The Returning Officers for the 15 constituencies are here with us,” Chebukati said adding that they, alongside party agents and IEBC officials facilitating tabulation of results will facilitate the verification of the statutory forms.

He urged the nation to exercise patience even as election officials at the National Tallying Centre verify poll results.

“So far we’ve received (electronically) 37,045 Forms 34A and the verification exercise will take time. The Commission will be announcing verified results per constituency,” Chebukati stated.

At the time of his briefing, President Uhuru Kenyatta (Jubilee Party) was leading with 4.9 million voters representing 96 per cent of votes tallied compared to National Super Alliance leader Raila Odinga’s 48,200.

According to the IEBC public results portal, a total of 188 constituencies had reported their returns electronically by 2:45pm on Friday.

The constituencies are Westlands, Dagoretti South, Roysambu, Embakasi North, Embakasi West, Makadara and Kamukunji in Nairobi County.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In the coastal county of Mombasa, only Jomvu, Changamwe, Mvita and Likoni constituencies had posted results.

In Kiambu County, Gatundu South, Gatundu North, Juja, Thika Town, Kikuyu, Githunguri, Kiambu, Kiambaa, Kabete and Limuru constituencies have relayed electronic results.

In Bungoma County, constituencies of Sirisia, Mt Elgon, Kabuchai, Webuye East, Webuye West, Kimilili and Tongaren have submitted returns.

In Kisumu County, only Kisumu West constituency has transmitted results.

In Bomet County, results from Sotik, Chepalungu, Bomet East, Konoin and Bomet Central have been published on the IEBC website.

Mathioya, Maragwa and Gatanga constituencies in Murang’a County have posted tallies.

Kajiado North, Central, East, West and South constituencies in Kajiado County have relayed their electronic results.

In Kakamega County, electronic results from Lugari, Lukuyani, Malava, Navakholo, Mumias East and West, Matungu, Kwisero, and Ikolomani constituencies are publicly available.

Baringo Central, Baringo North, Mogotio and Eldama Ravine have posted electronic results.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Teso North, Nambale, Matayos, Butula and Funyula have declared returns in Busia County.

In Garissa County, Garissa Township, Mbalambala and Lagdera constituencies have submitted statutory forms electronically.

Isiolo South constituency in Isiolo County is the only one with Form 34B available so far.

Belgut, Kipkelion West, Kipkelion East and Ainamoi have had results forms transmitted.

Kaloleni, Rabai, Kilifi North, Kilifi South, Ganze, Magarini, and Malindi in Kilifi County have also remitted electronic returns.

In Kirinyaga County, Mwea, Ndia and Kirinyaga Central have submitted tallies.

In Kisii, Bonchari, Bomachoge Borabu, Bobasi, Bomachoge Chache, Nyaribari Chache and Nyaribari Masaba have submitted tallies.

Mwingi West, Mwingi Central, Kitui East, Kitui West, Kitui Central and Kitui South constituencies in Kitui County have sent in their results.

Matungulu, Yatta, Kangundo, Matungulu, Mavoko, Kathiani, Machakos Town and Mwala have sent their results from Machakos County.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In Makueni, Kilome, Kaiti, Kibwezi West and West constituencies have relayed tallies.

Mandera West, Mandera East, Lafey and Banissa constituencies of Mandera County have sent tallies as well.

In Marsabit County, Moyale, Saku and Laisamis constituencies has submitted returns.

In Meru County, Igembe Central, Igembe North, Igembe South, Tigania East, Tigania West, North Imenti, Central Imenti and Buuri have submitted Form 34Bs electronically.

Kuria East and West in Migori County have also sent in results.

Tinderet, Aldai, Chesumei, Emgwen and Mosop constituencies in Nandi County have submitted forms electronically.

Emurua Dikirr, Kilgoris as well as Narok North, East and South in Narok County have relayed Forms 34B.

Kitutu Masaba, Borabu, West Mugirango and North Mugirango have transmitted their electronic copies of Forms 34B in Nyamira County.

Ol Jorok and Ndaragwa in Nyandarua County have transmitted their tallies.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Nyeri Town, Mukurweini and Tetu constituencies in Nyeri have since sent in soft copies of Forms 34B.

Garsen, Galole and Bura constituencies in Tana River successfully transmitted Forms 34B.

In Uasin Gishu, constituencies of Soi, Turbo, Ainabkoi, Kapseret and Kesses have sent in their electronic results.

Vihiga, Sabatia, Luanda and Emuhaya in Vihiga County have so far remitted results electronically.

Wajir North and Tarbaj in Wajir County have also sent in their tallies.

Kapenguria, Sigor and Kacheliba constituencies in West Pokot County have transmitted results.

Tallies from polling stations in the Diaspora are yet to be relayed.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Corona Virus Data


Last Updated: 5 mins ago

Confirmed Cases


New Cases


Total Deaths


New Deaths


Total Recovered


Active Cases


in Critical



More on Capital News