President Kenyatta secures second term in office

October 30, 2017 3:49 pm
President Kenyatta and DP Ruto after getting their certificates/PSCU

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Oct 30 – President Uhuru Kenyatta has secured a second term in office after garnering 7,483,895 votes in last week’s presidential election.

In results declared by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Monday afternoon, President Kenyatta (Jubilee Party) got 98.26 per cent of the 7,483,895 valid votes cast, with his National Super Alliance (NASA) rival Raila Odinga only managing 73,228 votes, after rallying his supporters to boycott the election held on Thursday.

The polls body placed the voter turnout at 38.84 per cent, the lowest in the country since the promulgation of the 2010 Constitution and markedly lower than the 78.91 per cent witnessed in the August 8 General Election whose presidential results was annulled by the Supreme Court in a historic decision rendered on September 1.

According to IEBC, the number of rejected votes in last week’s election stood at 37,713.

During the August election, 15,073,662 voters were said to have voted. President Kenyatta garnering 8,203,290 votes (54.27pc) against Odinga’s 6,762,224 votes.

Statistics released by IEBC showed only 266 out of 291 constituencies participated in the fresh election held on October 26.

The election failed to take place in the remaining 25 constituencies all located in Odinga’s political bedrock of Nyanza due to sporadic incidences of violence which escalated the insecurity situation in the region that remained volatile throughout the electioneering period.

Chaos witnessed in the region rendered it impossible to hold an election.

In an update to the nation earlier in the day, IEBC Vice Chairperson Consolata Nkatha explained that the Commission had arrived at the decision to proceed with the declaration, having found it impracticable to hold an election in the areas affected by incidences of violence as required under Article 138 (2)of the Constitution, within legal timelines.

“The Commission could not immediately determine an appropriate and practical time in compliance with Section 55 (b) of the Election Act which requires that when an election is postponed it should be held at the earliest practicable time,” Nkatha stated.

“Having completed the verification process with respect to 266 constituencies where the election was held, the Commission in accordance with Section 55 (b3) of the Elections Act has directed a return to the elections be made having been satisfied that the results of the election shall not be affected by voting the electoral areas where voting was postponed,” she explained.

On Friday, the IEBC cancelled a scheduled election in the affected constituencies in Nyanza set for Saturday, even as it continued to mobile its staff in the region who failed to show up in polling centres citing insecurity and intimidation.

Some of the poll officials were even forced to take refuge at police stations, IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati told the press at the National Tallying Centre on Friday last week.

Other candidates in the race included Thirdway Alliance candidate Ekuru Aukot who garnered 21,333 votes, Alliance for Real Change leader Abduba Dida who secured 14,107 votes, and independent candidates Japheth Kaluyu, Michael Wainaina, Joseph Nyagah, and Cyrus Jirongo had 8,261, 6,007, 5,554 and 3,823 votes respectively.

In the Diaspora constituency comprising five countries, President Kenyatta got the highest amount of votes standing at 1,298 followed by Odinga at 20 votes.

Aukot secured 19 votes, Dida coming in fourth place with 11.

Wainaina and Nyagah had two and one votes respectively in the Diaspora with Kaluyu and Jirongo securing none.

The Diaspora constituency comprised three polling centres in Tanzania (two in Dar es Salaam, one in Arusha), two in Kampala, Uganda, two in Kigali, Rwanda, one in Bujumbura, Burundi and two in Pretoria, South Africa.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts