Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Confusion in NASA as it fails to agree on parliamentary leadership

In his remarks during the opening ceremony of a week long induction workshop for MPs, Mbadi who is also the ODM National Chairman said he learnt of the appointment Monday morning/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya Sept 18 – Confusion continues to rock the National Super Alliance over the naming of leaders to top House posts after the coalition’s CEO Norman Magaya refuted a declaration by Suba South MP John Mbadi that he is the National Assembly Minority Leader.

In his remarks during the opening ceremony of a week long induction workshop for MPs, Mbadi who is also the ODM National Chairman said he learnt of the appointment Monday morning.

“Actually you can see from my dressing that I was least prepared to address this congregation as the Leader of Minority. Actually I became aware Leader of Minority this morning but I want to thank my Coalition for the great honour I have been accorded by naming me as the Leader of the Minority in the 12th Parliament,” he said.

Mbadi went on to declare that Lugari MP and former journalist Ayub Savula would deputise him while Kathiani legislator Robert Mbui and Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa would serve as Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

“We are representing different political groupings and different political ideologies and principles and that disagreement sometimes has not brought nice memories to the House, I must admit, but I expect and hope the Twelfth Parliament will be different. That we will disagree but we will disagree with decorum, that we will argue but argue our cases very well,” Mbadi as he was applauded by House Speaker Justin Muturi and Majority Leader Aden Duale.


But moments later, Magaya took to the social media platforms and declared the list of officials was not approved.

“The leadership of the National Super Alliance (NASA) has not yet agreed on the distribution of positions of the House Leadership in both Houses of Parliament (Senate and National Assembly) to members and affiliate political parties.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“Therefore, the purported line-up doing rounds in public, mainstream and social media with regard to the positions of Minority Leaders and their Deputies and Minority Whips and their Deputies in both Houses has not been sanctioned and or approved by the leadership of NASA and the Parliamentary Group.”

The line-up originated from a meeting the Minority Coalition held last week and which was chaired by Bungoma Senator and NASA Co-principal Moses Wetang’ula with some opposition MPs at his office.

The Opposition has however not settled on the chairpersons of parliamentary committees.

The announcement of the list was halted after the Parliamentary Group meeting announced that it will not be providing any names for Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Chief Whip and Deputy Minority Whip in line with its decision not to lend legitimacy to the House.

The announcement came in the wake the ruling Jubilee Party tabling and approving its members to the powerful House Business Committee (HBC).

On Wednesday, NASA MPs immediately walked out of the National Assembly chamber after Speaker Justin Muturi ruled that he would not allow the House to be held to ransom and directed that lawmakers proceed to debate and approve the appointment of Jubilee MPs to the committee.

In the Senate, Wetang’ula will retain his position as the Minority Leader and he will be deputised by Siaya Senator James Orengo.

Senate Whip position will be occupied by Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior who will be deputised by Petronila Were, an ANC nominated senator.

If the appointment is confirmed Mbadi would be taking over from Wiper’s Francis Nyenze (Kitui West) who led the opposition in the Eleventh Parliament.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Mbui will be replacing former Wundanyi MP Thomas Mwadeghu who unsuccessfully contested the Taita-Taveta Governor’s seat in the August 8 poll.

Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa (FORD-Kenya) has been retained Deputy Minority Whip post.


More on Capital News