Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


Waititu sworn in, to barely contained cheer, as Kiambu governor

Waititu beat Kabogo both in the Jubilee Party primaries and in the election/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 19 – Ferdinand Waititu was on Saturday sworn in as the governor of Kiambu with Turkana governor Josphat Nanok also scheduled for swearing in, in his case for a second term.

Waititu and his deputy James Nyoro took their Oath of Office at the Ndumberi Grounds while Nanok and his deputy Lotethiro Peter Emuria will be sworn in at a ceremony to be held at Ekalees Centre, Lodwar.

Nanok who also is the Chairman of Council of Governors retained his seat after trouncing senator John Munyes while Waititu floored his political rival William Kabogo by a landslide to assume the govenor’s seat.

The two arch-rivals have previously been engaged in a bitter legal battle, with counter-accusations over their academic credentials.

Meanwhile, Governors’ elect Patrick Gakuru of Nyeri and Mohammed Abdi of Wajir counties will take oath of office on Monday.

Nairobi’s Mike Sonko and Granton Samboja of Taita Taveta will be sworn in on Monday followed by Hassan Joho of Mombasa and Kitui’s Charity Ngilu on Tuesday.

Sonko and his deputy Polycarp Igathe’s swearing in will be at Uhuru Park, Nairobi starting at 9am.

In a Notice appearing in the Kenya Gazette published on August 16, Francis Thoya – the Chairperson of the Assumption of the Office of the Governor Committee, Mombasa County –stated: “the swearing in ceremony of Hassan Ali Joho and William Kazungu Kingi as the Governor and Deputy Governor of Mombasa County shall be held on Tuesday, 22nd August, 2017 at the Mama Ngina Drive, Mombasa starting at 10am.”

Alfred Mutua of Machakos and Mandera’s Ali Roba were the first to take oath on Thursday.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News