Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


President Kenyatta gets second term with 8.2mn votes against Raila’s 6.7mn

President Kenyatta of the Jubilee Party garnered 8,203,290 votes (54.27pc) against National Super Alliance (NASA) candidate Raila Odinga’s 6,762,224 votes/MOSES MUOKI

NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 11 – The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has declared Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta the President-elect, following Tuesday’s General Election, granting him a second term in office.

IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati said he was satisfied President Kenyatta had garnered the requisite 50 per cent plus one of all the votes cast as required by law.

President Kenyatta of the Jubilee Party garnered 8,203,290 votes (54.27pc) against National Super Alliance (NASA) candidate Raila Odinga’s 6,762,224 votes.

Kenyatta who won the 2013 general election with a narrow margin, only securing 6,173,433 (50.07 per cent) votes over Odinga’s 5,340,546 (40.3 per cent.

Chebukati said voter turnout stood at 15,073,662 voters out of the 19, 611, 423 registered, marking a 78.91 per cent turnout.

In Mombasa, President Kenyatta got 99,180 votes while Odinga had 238,809. In Kwale, he had 43,694 votes against Odinga’s 138,565. In Kilifi, he got 49,575 against Odinga’s 274,179 votes.

In Tana River, the President-elect had 40,115 votes against Odinga’s 61,000 votes. In Lamu, he had 23,905 against Odinga’s 24,421. In Taita Taveta, he garnered 31,127 votes against Odinga’s 79,990.

In Garissa, he got 54,783 while Odinga had 54,356 votes; in Wajir, he had 60,508 votes against 52,362 by Odinga.

In Makueni, President Kenyatta garnered 27,388 votes while Odinga had 301,126. In Nyandarua, he had 286,593 against Odinga’s 2,286 votes.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In Nyeri, Kenyatta had 389,410 votes with Odinga getting 4,735. In Kirinyaga, Kenyatta had 297,652 against Odinga’s 3,120. In Kiambu, he had 912,588 against Odinga’s 69,190 votes.

In Turkana, Kenyatta had 62,611 with Odinga getting 96,336 while in West Pokot, he got 97,620 against 52,120 by Odinga.

In Samburu, Kenyatta had 31,747 while Odinga garnered 31,615. In Trans Nzoia he had 110,489 against Odinga’s 134,312.

In Uasin Gishu Kenyatta got 265,704 and Odinga 72,378, while in Elgeyo Marakwet he got 138,634 against 7,102 by Odinga and 235,243 in Nandi compared to 33,848 by Odinga.

Here are the rest of the results:

Baringo: Kenyatta 161,423, Odinga 28,748; Laikipia: Kenyatta 177,772, Odinga 20,694; Nakuru, Kenyatta 639,237, Odinga 110,857, Kajiado: Kenyatta 186,481, Odinga 138,405; Kericho, Kenyatta 272,974, Odinga 19,448, Bomet: Kenyatta 229,599, Odinga 31,822.

Kakamega: Kenyatta 63,399, Odinga 483,157; Vihiga: Kenyatta 18,275, Odinga 179,140, Bungoma, Kenyatta 126,475, Odinga 284,786

Busia: Kenyatta 34,239, Odinga 239,296; Siaya: Kenyatta 2,494, Odinga 375,712 and Kisumu Kenyatta 7,411, Odinga 369,00. Migori: Kenyatta, 46,112, Odinga 274,161, Kisii: Kenyatta 174,213, Odinga 223,155; Nyamira: Kenyatta 106,508, Odinga 95,227; Nairobi: Kenyatta 791,291, Odinga 828,826.

Chebukati said voter turnout stood at 15,073,662 voters out of the 19, 611, 423 registered, marking a 78.91 per cent turnout/MOSES MUOKI

Odinga’s National Super Alliance (NASA) had in the period leading to the declaration of results cried foul alleging that IEBC servers had been hacked, claiming results being transmitted electronically from 40,883 polling centers had been tampered with.

The Commission rejected demands by the alliance compelling it to declare the opposition chief as the winner of the election based on the results NASA claimed were legitimate, with Chebukati saying in response that such an action would amount to the breach of IEBC’s independence.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“There’s only one election management body in this country and that is IEBC. This is the body mandated to run elections, count ballot papers and it is our job after counting to announce those results. If a candidate brings results to us, we cannot take those results,” Chebukati said Thursday night.

IEBC also dismissed claims servers upon which the electronic Results Transmission System was anchored had been hacked, Commissioner Abdi Guliye saying no hacking had been reported and that there were measures in place to guard against internal and external intrusion.

“There has not been any hacking and we’ve not reported on any. The story about hacking is something that is not there at all. We’ve invested heavily in security systems and we’ve deployed various personnel to monitor on a 24-hour basis the integrity our system,” Commissioner Guliye asserted.

By the time of the declaration of results, a total of five candidates had conceded defeat even as they urged Kenyans to keep peace and await an official declaration from the IEBC.

Japheth Kaluyu (Independent), Ekuru Aukot (Thirdway Alliance), Cyrus Jirongo (United Democratic Party), Joseph Nyagah (Independent) and Abduba Dida of the Alliance for Real Change all called for patience even as the validation of Forms 34A and 34B got underway on Wednesday.

Both international and local observer missions have described the August 8 election as credible, urging those who feel aggrieved by the outcome to seek legal redress.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News