Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


MPs’ gamble for ‘bigger’ seats flops miserably

Boni Khalwale fails to unseat incumbent Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Aug 9 – Former National Assembly Minority Whip Thomas Mwadeghu, Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale, Taita Taveta County Woman Representative Joyce Lay, Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro are among 11th Parliament MPs whose gamble to ascend to ‘higher’ seats did not pay off after they lost in gubernatorial or senatorial races.

According to provisional results released by the IEBC, Mwadeghu who had to put a up a fight to secure the ODM ticket to vie for the Taveta Governor’s seat is currently lying fourth in a contest that is being led by Wiper’s Granton Samboja with 38,492 votes while incumbent Governor John Mruttu (IND) is lying in second place with 22,791 votes.

Former Taveta Senator Danson Mwazo (Jubilee Party) lies in third place.

At the same time, former Taita Taveta County Woman Representative Joyce Lay who had decamped from the Orange Democratic Party to run for the Senate seat on a Jubilee ticket, is currently trailing ODM’s Johnes Mwaruma with 333 out of 354 polling stations yet to report.

IEBC provisional results shows Mwaruma has taken the lead with 41,426 votes (39.22pc), while Lay has 33,704 votes (31.91pc).

It was a game of mixed fortunes for former Emuhaya MP Wilberforce Otichilllo and former Vihiga MP Yusuf Chanzu who had quit the National Assembly to embark on a quest to unseat incumbent Vihiga Governor Moses Akaranga.

IEBC provisional results show Otichilllo having a good day at the polls as he sustains the lead with 480 out of 548 polling stations having reported back. Chanzu on the other hand is trailing in third place with 29,374 votes (16.71pc).

Akaranga who is running on a Peoples Party of Kenya (PPOK) currently lies in second place with 56,251 votes (32pc).

Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale is also headed for a defeat in his bid to  unseat incumbent Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In provisional results by the IEBC, the bull-fighter (FORD Kenya) as he is popularly known is currently trailing having garnered 129,784 votes against Oparanya’s (ODM) 369,511 votes.

In Busia, former Funyula MP Paul Otuoma (IND) also looks poised to lose the gubernatorial contest to incumbent Sospeter Ojaamong (ODM) who is currently in the lead with
131450 votes (49.32pc) against his 121,416 votes (45.55pc).

In the Kilifi gubernatorial contest, former Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro (JP) is currently trailing incumbent Jeffah Kingi who is leading by 202,186 votes. Mung’aro has 52,666 votes.

Former South Mugirango MP Manson Nyamweya is also not faring well in the Kisii gubernatorial race as he is currently lying in third place in a contest in which James Ongwae (ODM) is leading with 190,157 votes while JP’s Chris Obure has 102,948 votes.

Former Nyamira Senator Okong’o Mong’are, who once toyed with the idea of vying for the President and West Mugirango James Gesami are similar lagging in fourth and fifth place in the Nyamira Governor race.

Mong’are has 8,500 votes (4.65pc), Gesami has 20,848 votes (11.42pc) respectively in a race led by incumbent Governor John Nyagarama who has 57,065 votes (31.25pc).

Former Kitui Senator David Musila is similarly trailing in the Kitui Governor’s race which is currently being led by former Lands CS Charity Ngilu who has 159,841 votes.

Musila who run as an independent candidate has 106,716 votes while incumbent Governor Julius Malombe is in third place.

Former Mombasa Senator Hassan Omar (Wiper) and former Nyali MP Hezron Awiti Bollo (VDP) are equally performing poorly in the Mombasa Governor’s seat race.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

With 870 out of 934 polling centres having reported back, Omar lies in third place with 40,714 votes while Bollo is fourth with 4,390 votes in the contest in which incumbent Hassan Joho leads with 206,399 votes respectively.

In the Narok Governor’s race, Samuel Tunai of Jubilee looks set to recapture the seat.

In Turkana; former Senator John Munyes (JP) is trailing incumbent Governor Josphat Nanok who has the lead with 486 out of 644 polling centres having reported their results.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News