Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


IEBC gazettes final results, names of Governors, Senators, Woman Reps

The Commission has also published the names and final results garnered by the 47 County Woman Representatives/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya Aug 18 – The Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission on Friday gazetted the full list of the 47 Governors, their deputies and the 47 Senators who were elected following last Tuesday’s General Election.

The Commission has also published the names and final results garnered by the 47 County Woman Representatives.

A notice published in the Kenya Gazette by Commission Chairman Wafula Chebukati also names Kimani Ichung’wah (Jubilee Party) who was elected unopposed as MP for Kikuyu Constituency and Othuthu George Abaja who was elected unopposed to be Seme West Ward Representative.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 88 (4) of the Constitution, Section 4 of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011, Regulation 53 of the Elections (General) Regulations, 2012, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission makes a declaration of no contest and declares the persons listed in the 5th and 6th columns of the First Schedule and 7th and 8th columns of the Second Schedule duly elected for the electoral units listed in the First and Second Schedules,” reads the gazette notice.

According to the Constitution, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has to gazette the names of all the elected members before they are sworn-in.

The MPs are then required to take an Oath of Office before they proceed to elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

For Governors and their deputies, gazettement of their names paves the way for them to be sworn-in into office.

Already, nine governors have taken the Oath of Office in ceremonies held at their respective county headquarters on Thursday and Friday.

Those listed to take their Oath of Office on Friday were Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Martin Wambora (Embu), Mwangi Wa Iria (Murang’a), Paul Chepkwony (Kericho),Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay), John Obiero Nyagarama (Nyamira), Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), Onesmus Njuki (Tharaka Nithi), Fahim Twaha (Lamu) and Joseph ole Lenku (Kajiado).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

READ: Six more governors to be sworn-in

The remaining 38 Governors and their Deputies including Council of Governors Chairman Josphat Nanok (Turkana), Ali Hassan Joho (Mombasa), Charity Ngilu (Kitui), Mike Sonko (Nairobi) among others will be sworn-in between Saturday and Wednesday respectively.

In the case of the 12th Parliament, the President will convene its first sitting of the assembly, while the 47 Governors will convene the inaugural sittings of their respective County Assemblies.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News