Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


TJ, Ongoro among 18 summoned over poll misconduct

Ongoro when she stormed the Orange Democratic Movement offices with her supporters to protest TJ’s nomination for the Ruaraka seat/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Jul 17 – The Electoral Code of Conduct Enforcement Committee chaired by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Chair Wafula Chebukati is set to hear a total of 18 disputes placed before it on Tuesday.

Some of the disputes to be heard include that of Ibrahim Memba verses Moses Akaranga in the race for the Vihiga governorship.

Also set to appear before the committee are Senator Elizabeth Ongoro and MP Tom Kajwang’; both of whom are contesting the Ruaraka seat.

Last week, the committee ruled on among others, the case between Florence Kajuju and Kawira Mwangaza who are both vying for the Woman Representative position in Meru county.

The committee ordered the accused (Kawira Mwangaza) to refrain from perpetuating, through her agents and representatives, any broadcast prejudicial to the complainant (Kajuju Florence).

The committee also disqualified Rarieda independent parliamentary candidate Augustine Netto Adhola from the August 8 race being the first casualty over claims of breaching the electoral code of conduct.

This Thursday, the committee is also set to make a ruling on Zachariah Obado versus Ochillo Ayacko who are both vying for the Migori County gubernatorial seat.

Chebukati has repeatedly stated that IEBC believes in strict adherence to the Electoral Code of Conduct affirming that any politician who contravenes the law will be held liable.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News