Governors required to account for county assets ahead of polls

July 17, 2017 4:44 pm
CS Kiunjuri and Tana River governor Dado at a previous event/COURTESY

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Jul 17 – All 47 County Governors will be required to prepare a summary of assets and liabilities within 30 days.

This is in line with the Framework for the Assumption of the Office of Governor published in the Kenya Gazette Notice and signed by Devolution Cabinet Secretary Mwangi Kiunjuri on July 3.

According to the guidelines, each of the 47 county chiefs is required to set up a special 13 member team to oversee transfer of the assets and liabilities to their successors in the event they are not re-elected.

“Assets should include those inherited from defunct local authorities, those transferred from the national government and those acquired by the county government since 2013 including all assets that have disputes or outstanding unresolved matters,” states the framework.

Each governor is expected to provide details of county assets, loans, creditors, unremitted statutory deductions, unpaid personnel emoluments, legal charges and contingent liabilities.

The team composed of among others the Country Secretary, County Commissioner shall also have to prepare a summary of the human resource of the country, entities, corporations and agencies that are either partially or wholly-owned by the county government.

The Governors shall have to provide the status of all ongoing projects indicating whether they are active, stalled, abandoned, terminated, or rescaled.

A summary of all sources of funds for financial years from 2012/2013 to 2017/2018 should also be prepared, clearly stating equitable share, conditional grants, own source revenue, unconditional grants, funds from development partners, borrowing and other sources.

The County officer in charge of legal matters as well as chief officers for public service, information and communication, finance, public works and roads, the head of national police in the county, the Clerk of the County Assembly, one county assembly official nominated by the clerk, representative of the Ministry of Devolution and a representative from inter-governmental relations technical committee will also form membership of the 13 member team.


Latest Articles

News Podcasts

Most Viewed