4 counties identified as cholera hotspots

July 26, 2017 5:00 pm
Several cases of cholera have been confirmed in each of the counties/XINHUA

, MACHAKOS, Kenya, Jul 26 – The Ministry of Health has identified four counties as major cholera hotspots.

The counties are Nairobi, Machakos, Garissa and Kisumu.

Health Cabinet Secretary Cleopa Mailu says they have sought international help from the World Health Organisation and Kenya Red Cross to curb spread of the killer disease.

He added that the national government is working with county governments to mitigate the disease which he said was first reported in April this year.

Mailu confirmed more than 100 cases of cholera have been recorded since then.

Latest Articles

News Podcasts