IEBC publishes list of 8 Presidential aspirants from whom it will receive papers

May 27, 2017 2:44 pm
Voters have until June 9 to verify the appearance of their details on the electoral roll/IEBC

, NAIROBI, Kenya, May 27 – The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission on Saturday published a list of eight Presidential Aspirants whose nomination papers it will receive on Sunday and Monday at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre.

First to submit his papers on Sunday will be Thirdway Alliance of Kenya candidate Ekuru Aukot, followed by Abduba Diba of the Alliance For Real Change.

The Orange Democratic Movement’s Raila Odinga will be third to present his papers and Justus Juma of the Justice and Freedom party will be last.

President Uhuru Kenyatta is expected to present his papers on Monday afternoon.

Ten of those who were seeking the post have been disqualified for various reasons.

The official campaign period will also begin on Sunday.

Chairperson Wafula Chebukati this week said all measures have been put in place to ensure the exercise will be above board.

Police have already warned politicians against incitement.

Director of Criminal Investigations Ndegwa Muhoro stated that they will firmly enforce the law on hate speech and will not spare anyone regardless of their status in society or political affiliation.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed