Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



After flop, Jubilee ably conducts primaries in 16 counties Tuesday

Musangi insisted that all ID holders be allowed to participate in Jubilee Party’s primaries/MOSES MUOKI

NAIROBI, Kenya, Apr 25 – Jubilee Party primaries have kicked off successfully in 16 counties where the exercise was scheduled to take place Tuesday.

Chairperson of the National Elections Board (NEB), Andrew Musangi told the press the nominations kicked off successfully in all the 16 devolved units even as he noted the successful completion of primaries in Baringo, Elgeyo Marakwet, Kirinyaga, Bomet and Nandi counties conducted on Monday.

“Reports from the ground indicate that this was a largely successful exercise. Counting started promptly on site, we did not move any voting material off site,” Musangi said during a briefing at the party headquarters on Tuesday.

He said the breakthrough recorded in the five counties Monday was as a result of lessons learnt from last week’s cancelled nominations adding that the party had enough materials to meet the large voter numbers on the ground.

“What we’ve witnessed is the large turnout we talked about earlier has been vindicated by the number of people who turned up to vote,” he said.

Musangi said voting material for the 16 counties due Tuesday arrived by Monday night early enough to facilitate the smooth running of the polls.

“Materials for these counties went on sight yesterday and throughout the night they were distributed to various polling centres,” he noted.

According to Musangi, the NEB will continue to monitor the situation in various parts of the country to ensure that voting goes on as scheduled.

He reiterated that the party will allow the use of National Identity cards by members to cast their votes saying no one will be turned away on account of lacking party membership cards.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Counties where voting is taking place are Embu, Narok, West Pokot, Makueni, Kakamega, Bungoma and Kitui.

Others are Garissa, Kajiado, Kericho, Kiambu, Uasin Gishu, Wajir, Migori, Vihiga and Homa Bay.


More on Capital News