Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Measure of a man, Uhuru to deliver final State of the Nation address of first term

This will be President Kenyatta’s fourth State of the Nation address since his inauguration in 2013/COURTESY

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 15 – President Uhuru Kenyatta will on Wednesday deliver his last State of the Nation address in a joint sitting of Parliament before the August General election.

In a Gazette Notice published on Monday, National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi and his Senate counterpart Ekwee Ethuro notified Members of the National Assembly and Senators that the Special Joint Sitting of Parliament will be held in the National Assembly Chambers.

The State of the Nation event is an annual constitutional requirement where the President is accorded the opportunity to address the nation, on all the measures taken and the progress achieved in the realisation of the national values

In accordance to the Constitution, the President shall also cause to be published in the Gazette, the details of the measures and progress and submit a report for debate to the National Assembly on the progress made in fulfilling the international obligations.

The address comes six months to the elections.

This year’s address comes as the country is gearing up for the August General Election amid heightening political temperatures as politicians intensify campaigns.

President Kenyatta’s annual State of the Nation address to Parliament last year was interrupted by loud whistling among parliamentarians from the opposition forcing him to stop and let the National Assembly Speaker take over.

Speaker Justin Muturi was forced to throw Ugunja MP Opiyo Wandayi out of the chambers.

Opiyo was among Opposition MPs who whistled a few minutes after president stood to address parliament.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Others included ODM national chairman John Mbadi, Ruaraka MP TJ Kajwang and Homa Bay woman representative Gladys Wanga.

Also among thrown out were Homa Bay Senator Moses Kajwang, Mbita MP Millie Odhiambo, Nyando MP Fred Outa and Dagoretti North MP Simba Arati.

The members blowing whistles on several occasions provoked the Speaker to declare a standing order that the President shall be heard in silence.


More on Capital News