Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



New CRA boss, commissioners to take oath

Kiringai was a Senior Economist based at the World Bank Kenya Country Office/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 28 – Jane Kiringai is due to be sworn in as the Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) Tuesday, effectively replacing Micah Cheserem whose six year term expired on December last year.

Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu will also swear in members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation at the Supreme Court.

Kiringai was a Senior Economist based at the World Bank Kenya Country Office.

She undertakes economic analytical work in the areas of macroeconomic policy and economic growth, international trade, public finance and public expenditure management.

She has also worked as a policy analyst with the Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis, Macroeconomic Division.

As a member of the KIPPRA macro modelling team she also provides technical support to the government through the KIPPRA/Treasury Macro Model, for growth forecasts and projections and in response to other in-depth policy questions.

Former political detainee Prof Edward Oyugi, Peter Njeru Gachuba, assistant director at Kenya School of Monetary Studies Kishaanto ole Suuji and scholar Irene Koech Asienga are among the new commissioners.

Others are community work specialist Fauza Abdikadir Dahir, business development expert Humphrey Wattanga, Treasury Principal Secretary Kamau Thugge and University of Nairobi’s Economist Prof Peter Kiko Kimuyu.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

More on Capital News