Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Capital News


MPs to approve House Business Committee members

The MPs are convening for the Fifth and final Session of the Eleventh Parliament before it dissolves ahead of the August 8 General Election/FILE

NAIROBI, Kenya, Jan 24 – The National Assembly is on Tuesday afternoon expected to resume its sittings with approval of the membership of the House Business Committee being the main agenda.

The MPs are convening for the Fifth and final Session of the Eleventh Parliament before it dissolves ahead of the August 8 General Election.

During the beginning of the Third Session of the Eleventh Parliament (in February 2015), legislators delayed passage of the names as they demanded the withdrawal of Igembe South MP Mithika Linturi and Homa Bay County Woman Representative Gladys Wanga from the crucial team which sets the daily business to be transacted by the House.

The Jubilee Coalition which has the majority in the House had vowed to discipline Wanga who was captured on camera sprinkling water on Deputy Speaker Joyce Laboso during a special sitting which was characterised by chaotic scenes as Opposition MPs tried to stop the adoption of the Security Laws Amendment Bill, 2014 (Now an Security Laws Amendment Act).

Linturi’s woes on the other hand started after he abandoned a censure motion against (former) Devolution Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru despite lobbying support from legislators.

House Speaker Justin Muturi was forced to intervene and break the stalemate by ruling that the MPs can vote and remove the name of the member they want the political party leadership to replace.

“In the case of the Motion before the House today, it is in order for a member to make amendments to delete any name or names proposed to be a member of the HBC but not to replace such name or names. Any proposals for replacements must originate from the concerned parliamentary political party,” he said in his Communication to the House.

Speaker Muturi was forced to adjourn the House without putting the matter to vote after MPs from both sides walked out to deny the House quorum.

But the matter was adopted unanimously a day later following a Speaker’s Kamukunji which brokered a truce between the ruling coalition and opposition.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In this year’s list, the respective House Whips retained the same nominees that served during the Fourth Session of the Eleventh Parliament.

A rejection of the Motion to set up the 29 member House Business Committee will lead to the adjournment of the National Assembly for six months when it can be re-introduced for debate.

The Jubilee Coalition seats on the committee are occupied by National Assembly Majority Whip Katoo ole Metito (Kajiado South), Deputy Majority Leader Naomi Shaban (Taveta), Jamleck Kamau (Kigumo), William Cheptumo (Baringo North), Maalim Mahamud (Mandera West), David Were (Matungu), Z. K. Cheruiyot (Kuresoi), Mithika Linturi (Igembe South), John Serut (Mt, Elgon), Cecilia Ngetich (Bomet County Woman Rep), Priscilla Nyokabi (Nyeri County Woman Rep), Rachael Nyamai (Kitui South), Peter Shehe (Ganze), Joyce Emanikor Akai (Turkana County Woman Rep), Sakaja Johnson (Nominated), Florence Kajuju (Meru County Woman Representative) and Stephen Kinyanjui Mburu (Kinangop).

CORD positions are occupied by National Assembly Deputy Minority Leader Jakoyo Midiwo (Gem), National Assembly Minority Whip Thomas Mwadeghu (Voi), Jessica Mbalu (Kibwezi East), Wafula Wamunyinyi (Kanduyi), Victor Munyaka (Machakos Town), Makali Mulu (Kitui Central), Susan Musyoka (Machakos County Woman), Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay County Woman Rep) and Dennitah Ghati (Migori County Woman Rep).

National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale and National Assembly Minority Leader Francis Nyenze also sit in the Committee chaired by the Speaker.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More on Capital News