Chad ratifies African court on Human and Peoples’ Rights

February 7, 2016 9:16 am
Chad President Idriss Deby. Photo/ FILE
Chad President Idriss Deby. Photo/ FILE

, NAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 7 – The Republic of Chad has joined 30 other African countries ratifying the protocol that allows the establishment of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

This was after the country deposited its instrument of ratification of the establishment of the court.

The instrument was signed last month by Chad’s President Idriss Deby and immediately deposited at the AU Headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The President of Chad assumed the AU annual rotating Chairmanship last week in Addis Ababa from President Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe.

The other States which have ratified the Protocol are: Kenya, Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Gabon and The Gambia.

Others are: Ghana; Libya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, Niger, Uganda, Rwanda, Arab Saharawi Republic , Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo and Tunisia.

The African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights is a continental court established by the AU to enhance the protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa.

In addition to the ratification of the Protocol, States have to make a Declaration required under Article 34(6) of the Protocol to allow individuals and NGOs to bring cases directly before the Court.
Without such Declaration, the Court would have no jurisdiction over cases brought by individuals and NGOs.

So far, only seven states have made the Declaration.

These are: Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivore, Ghana, Malawi, Mali, Rwanda and Tanzania.

The Court was established by virtue of Article 1 of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The Protocol was adopted on 9 June 1998 in Burkina Faso and came into force on 25 January 2004.The Court officially started its operations in November 2006.

AU is made up of 54 Member States.


Latest Articles

Most Viewed