Youth council wants parastatal appointments revoked

December 30, 2013 12:52 pm


President Kenyatta has been accused of neglecting the youth in plum appointments. FILE.
President Kenyatta has been accused of neglecting the youth in plum appointments. FILE.
NAIROBI Kenya, Dec 30 – The National Youth Council is now urging President Uhuru Kenyatta to revoke the appointment of 26 parastatal heads gazetted at the weekend.

The council argues that majority of those appointed does not represent the youthful majority in the country, arguing that most of them are political losers and recycled retirees.

The council Chairman Clement Ayungo who addressed journalists this afternoon says the president and his deputy are going against their own manifesto which propelled them to power.

“The cabinet has no single youth, there’s no single youth holding Permanent Secretary position and now the parastatal heads are being appointed in total exclusion of the youth,” he complained.

The council officials said unless the new appointments are revoked, the youth stands to lose because and are likely to lose hope of getting jobs under the new government.

The Deputy President has since defended the appointments, insisting that all factors, including regional balance were considered.

The youth council disagrees, saying “We urge the President to implement to the letter the Jubilee Manifesto on the basis of which the youth elected them to office,”

Most notable on the list of appointments is the former Head of the Civil Service Francis Muthaura who has been named the LAPSET Corridor Development Authority Chairman.

“Uhuru Kenyatta, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces of the Republic of Kenya appoints Amb. Francis Muthaura to be the Chairman of the LAPSSET Corridor Development Authority up to February 15, 2016 with effect from January 10, 2014,” the special gazette notice reads.

Former MPs allied to Lands Cabinet Secretary Charity Ngilu also won big with Phillip Kaloki being appointed Chairperson of the Kenya Medical Training College and Agnes Ndetei clinching an appointment as Chairperson of the National Drought Management Authority.

Linah Jebii Kilimo whose Jebii Kilimo Foundation focuses on bringing an end to Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) in the North Rift was appointed to chair the newly formed Anti-Female Genital Mutilation Board.

The National Alliance (TNA) Secretary General Onyango Oloo was not left out of the appointments either and secured an appointment as Chairperson of the Lake Basin Development Authority among others.

Below is a full list of the appointments:

1. Titus Ibui – Kenya Leather Development Council Board
2. Simon Gicharu – Geothermal Development Company
3. Kenneth Sigilai – Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO)
4. Daniel Kiongo – Kenya Pipeline Company
5. Eliud Wamae – New Kenya Co-operative Creameries
6. Geoffrey Kingangi (COL.) – National Cereals and Produce Board
7. Taraiya Ole Kores – Kenya Meat Commission
8. Linah Jebii Kilimo – Anti-Female Genital Mutilation Board
9. Terry Ryan – Kenya National Bureau of Statistics
10. Benson Adeng – Consolidated Bank Board of Directors
11. Mohamud Mohammed Ali – National Hospital Insurance Fund Board
12. Agnes Ndetei – National Drought Management Authority
13. Phillip Kaloki – Kenya Medical Training College Board
14. Sam Kona – Kerio Valley Development Authority
15. Peter Kiilu – Water Resource Management Authority
16. Onyango Oloo – Lake Basin Development Authority
17. Julius Kones – National Water Conservation and Pipeline Corporation
18. Abdul Bahari — Tana and Athi Rivers Development Authority
19. Kitambi Digore – Kenya Maritime Authority
20. Amb. Francis Muthaura – LAPSSET Corridor Development Authority
21. Joseph Musebe – Kenya Broadcasting Corporation
22. Sammy Tangus – Postal Corporation of Kenya
23. Edwin Yinda – Kenya Information and Communications Board of Directors
24. Sam Njonde – National Sports Fund Board of Trustees


Latest Articles

Most Viewed